Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 54 out of 100. Long-term cohort studies

Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies

Introduction The interplay between midlife vascular risk factors and midlife cognitive function with later life mild cognitive impairment (MCI) and dementia (DEM) is not well understood. Methods In the Atherosclerosis Risk in Communities Study, cardiovascular risk factors and cognition were assessed in midlife, ages 45-64 years. In 2011-2013, 20-25 years later, all consenting Atherosclerosis Risk in Communities participants underwent a cognitive and neurological evaluation and were given adjudicated diagnoses of cognitively normal, MCI, or DEM.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Knopman, D. S., Gottesman, R. F., Sharrett, A. R., Tapia, A. L., DavisThomas, S., Windham, B. G., et al. (2018). Midlife vascular risk factors and midlife cognitive status in relation to prevalence of mild cognitive impairment and dementia in later life: The Atherosclerosis Risk in Communities Study. Alzheimer's & dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jalz.2018.03.011

Vancouver

Knopman DS, Gottesman RF, Sharrett AR, Tapia AL, DavisThomas S, Windham BG, et al. Midlife vascular risk factors and midlife cognitive status in relation to prevalence of mild cognitive impairment and dementia in later life: The Atherosclerosis Risk in Communities Study. Alzheimer's & dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association. 2018. doi:10.1016/j.jalz.2018.03.011. PMID: 29763593.

BibTeX

@article{knopman2018-29763593,
  author  = {Knopman, D. S. and Gottesman, R. F. and Sharrett, A. R. and Tapia, A. L. and DavisThomas, S. and Windham, B. G. and Coker, L. and Schneider, A. L. C. and others},
  title   = {{Midlife vascular risk factors and midlife cognitive status in relation to prevalence of mild cognitive impairment and dementia in later life: The Atherosclerosis Risk in Communities Study}},
  journal = {Alzheimer's \& dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association},
  year    = {2018},
  doi     = {10.1016/j.jalz.2018.03.011},
  pmid    = {29763593},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jalz.2018.03.011}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Why it matters

In the Atherosclerosis Risk in Communities Study, midlife diabetes, hypertension, obesity, and hypercholesterolemia were associated with later-life mild cognitive impairment and dementia. This identifies midlife vascular risk factors but does not test whether treating them prevents dementia.

Study details

How this study scored 54/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 9 of 10; Journal's citation record 2 of 4; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 2 of 5; Sample size 3 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited 5 of 7; Citations per year 3 of 5; Impact for its field and year 4 of 6; Cited by studies here 2 of 6; Still being cited 2 of 4; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record 2 of 3; Multi-centre collaboration 2 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. 52 of the 96 points it could be judged on, which is 54 of 100. Total 54 of 100.52 of the 96 points we could judge = 54 of 100

Published in a leading specialty journal. Scored zero for study design, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on senior author's track record, so that was left out: it earned 52 of the 96 points we could judge it on, which is 54 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 9 / 10 Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (Alzheimer's & dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association)
Journal's citation record 2 / 4 Alzheimer s & Dementia: journal h-index 228 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29)
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 2 / 5 2018 — within 10 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 3 / 4 5,995 participants
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited 5 / 7 Cited 116 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 3 / 5 11.6 citations a year over 10 year(s) since 2018
Impact for its field and year 4 / 6 Cited 9.7× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI)
Cited by studies here 2 / 6 Cited by 5 other studies in this library
Still being cited 2 / 4 Cited 36 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record 2 / 3 Johns Hopkins University: institution h-index 2,306 (OpenAlex)
Multi-centre collaboration 2 / 3 OpenAlex lists 8 institution(s) in 1 country
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 29763593)
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Points 52 / 96 Scored on 19 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 52 of the 96 points we could judge it on is 54 out of 100.
Total 54 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).

Studies this one cites

Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here. Showing 12 of 28.

Later studies that cite this one

5 studies in the alzhub library list this one in their references.

Related studies in Long-term cohort studies

Also tagged “biobank”

1,084 studies in the library carry the topic tag “biobank”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 1,084 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Long-term cohort studies

See all studies in Long-term cohort studies →