Home › Research › Prevention trials
Differential effects of a multidomain intervention on cognitive decline in older adults with type 2 diabetes according to white matter hyperintensity status: A secondary analysis of the J‐ MIND ‐Diabetes
Taiki Sugimoto, Takuya Omura, Atsushi Araki, Chie Haneda, Keiko Honda, Minoru Kishi, Toshimasa Takahashi, Kenji Toyoshima et al.. Diabetes Obesity and Metabolism, 2025-07-14
Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies
Among 90 participants included in the analyses, 34 had moderate to severe WMH. At the 18-month follow-up, a significant intervention-WMH interaction (p = 0.017) was found for the primary outcome. The intervention effect was significant in individuals with WMH (Z-score difference: +0.335, 95% confidence interval [CI]: +0.045 to +0.624), but not in individuals without WMH (Z-score difference: -0.121, 95% CI: -0.353 to +0.110). Older adults with type 2 diabetes and WMH may benefit from multidomain interventions. Further studies should be performed to validate this finding.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Sugimoto, T., Omura, T., Araki, A., Haneda, C., Honda, K., Kishi, M., et al. (2025). Differential effects of a multidomain intervention on cognitive decline in older adults with type 2 diabetes according to white matter hyperintensity status: A secondary analysis of the J‐ MIND ‐Diabetes. Diabetes Obesity and Metabolism. https://doi.org/10.1111/dom.16605
Vancouver
Sugimoto T, Omura T, Araki A, Haneda C, Honda K, Kishi M, et al. Differential effects of a multidomain intervention on cognitive decline in older adults with type 2 diabetes according to white matter hyperintensity status: A secondary analysis of the J‐ MIND ‐Diabetes. Diabetes Obesity and Metabolism. 2025. doi:10.1111/dom.16605. PMID: 40654235.
BibTeX
@article{sugimoto2025-40654235,
author = {Sugimoto, Taiki and Omura, Takuya and Araki, Atsushi and Haneda, Chie and Honda, Keiko and Kishi, Minoru and Takahashi, Toshimasa and Toyoshima, Kenji and others},
title = {{Differential effects of a multidomain intervention on cognitive decline in older adults with type 2 diabetes according to white matter hyperintensity status: A secondary analysis of the J‐ MIND ‐Diabetes}},
journal = {Diabetes Obesity and Metabolism},
year = {2025},
doi = {10.1111/dom.16605},
pmid = {40654235},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1111/dom.16605}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- Among 90 participants included in the analyses, 34 had moderate to severe WMH.
- At the 18-month follow-up, a significant intervention-WMH interaction (p = 0.017) was found for the primary outcome.
- The intervention effect was significant in individuals with WMH (Z-score difference: +0.335, 95% confidence interval [CI]: +0.045 to +0.624), but not in individuals without WMH (Z-score difference: -0.121, 95% CI: -0.353 to +0.110).
- Older adults with type 2 diabetes and WMH may benefit from multidomain interventions.
- Further studies should be performed to validate this finding.
Why it matters
In this secondary analysis of 90 older adults with type 2 diabetes, multidomain intervention improved cognition in those with moderate to severe white matter hyperintensities but not in those without. The authors call for further studies to validate the finding, so it does not yet establish a treatment or prevention for Alzheimer's.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Prevention →
Study details
- Participants154
- Evidence strengthHigh
How this study scored 47/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on senior author's track record, so that was left out: it earned 45 of the 96 points we could judge it on, which is 47 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Diabetes Obesity and Metabolism) |
| Journal's citation record | 2 / 4 | Diabetes Obesity and Metabolism: journal h-index 186 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29) |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 5 / 5 | Rated “high” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 4 / 5 | 2025 — within 3 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 2 / 4 | 154 participants |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (participant count stated) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | 1 / 7 | Cited 3 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10) |
| Citations per year | 1 / 5 | 1.0 citations a year over 3 year(s) since 2025 |
| Impact for its field and year | 2 / 6 | Cited 1.9× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI) |
| Cited by studies here | 0 / 6 | No other study in this library cites it |
| Still being cited | 1 / 4 | Cited 3 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex) |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | 3 / 3 | University of Washington: institution h-index 3,540 (OpenAlex) |
| Multi-centre collaboration | 2 / 3 | OpenAlex lists 7 institution(s) in 3 countries |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 40654235) |
| Free to read | 0 / 2 | Behind a paywall — scores zero |
| Points | 45 / 96 | Scored on 19 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 45 of the 96 points we could judge it on is 47 out of 100. |
| Total | 47 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
May need a subscription OpenAlex found no free copy of the full text (checked 6 Feb 1020), so the publisher may charge for it. The PubMed abstract is free.
Studies this one cites
Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here.
Related studies in Prevention trials
Also tagged “cognitive-function”
1,118 studies in the library carry the topic tag “cognitive-function”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 1,118 tagged studies.