Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 60 out of 100. Cognitive tests and assessment

Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis

We sought to develop and evaluate a composite memory score from the neuropsychological battery used in the Alzheimer's Disease (AD) Neuroimaging Initiative (ADNI). We used modern psychometric approaches to analyze longitudinal Rey Auditory Verbal Learning Test (RAVLT, 2 versions), AD Assessment Schedule - Cognition (ADAS-Cog, 3 versions), Mini-Mental State Examination (MMSE), and Logical Memory data to develop ADNI-Mem, a composite memory score. We compared RAVLT and ADAS-Cog versions, and compared ADNI-Mem to RAVLT recall sum scores, four ADAS-Cog-derived scores, the MMSE, and the Clinical Dementia Rating Sum of Boxes.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Crane, P. K., Carle, A., Gibbons, L. E., Insel, P., Mackin, R. S., Gross, A., et al. (2012). Development and assessment of a composite score for memory in the Alzheimer's Disease Neuroimaging Initiative (ADNI). Brain imaging and behavior. https://doi.org/10.1007/s11682-012-9186-z

Vancouver

Crane PK, Carle A, Gibbons LE, Insel P, Mackin RS, Gross A, et al. Development and assessment of a composite score for memory in the Alzheimer's Disease Neuroimaging Initiative (ADNI). Brain imaging and behavior. 2012. doi:10.1007/s11682-012-9186-z. PMID: 22782295.

BibTeX

@article{crane2012-22782295,
  author  = {Crane, P. K. and Carle, A. and Gibbons, L. E. and Insel, P. and Mackin, R. S. and Gross, A. and Jones, R. N. and Mukherjee, S. and others},
  title   = {{Development and assessment of a composite score for memory in the Alzheimer's Disease Neuroimaging Initiative (ADNI)}},
  journal = {Brain imaging and behavior},
  year    = {2012},
  doi     = {10.1007/s11682-012-9186-z},
  pmid    = {22782295},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1007/s11682-012-9186-z}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Why it matters

This study developed and evaluated a composite memory score from the neuropsychological battery used in the Alzheimer's Disease Neuroimaging Initiative. It is a measurement tool for tracking memory, not a treatment, cure, or prevention study.

Study details

How this study scored 60/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record 1 of 4; Study design 7 of 12; Strength of evidence 3 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 1 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 0 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited 6 of 7; Citations per year 4 of 5; Impact for its field and year 4 of 6; Cited by studies here 4 of 6; Still being cited 3 of 4; Senior author's track record 3 of 4; Institution's track record 3 of 3; Multi-centre collaboration 2 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. Total 60 of 100.60 of 100 points earned40 not earned

Published in a peer-reviewed journal, and it is a longitudinal study following the same people over time. Scored zero for sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Brain imaging and behavior)
Journal's citation record 1 / 4 Brain Imaging and Behavior: journal h-index 89 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29)
Study design 7 / 12 A longitudinal study following the same people over time
Strength of evidence 3 / 5 Rated “moderate” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 1 / 5 2012 — within 20 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 0 / 3 Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited 6 / 7 Cited 628 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 4 / 5 39.2 citations a year over 16 year(s) since 2012
Impact for its field and year 4 / 6 Cited 10.9× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI)
Cited by studies here 4 / 6 Cited by 59 other studies in this library
Still being cited 3 / 4 Cited 173 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record 3 / 4 Last-listed author Dan Mungas: h-index 93 (OpenAlex, whole career)
Institution's track record 3 / 3 University of Washington: institution h-index 3,540 (OpenAlex)
Multi-centre collaboration 2 / 3 OpenAlex lists 7 institution(s) in 1 country
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 22782295)
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Total 60 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).

Studies this one cites

Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here.

Later studies that cite this one

59 studies in the alzhub library list this one in their references. Showing the 8 highest-scoring.

Related studies in Cognitive tests and assessment

Also tagged “classification”

835 studies in the library carry the topic tag “classification”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 835 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Cognitive tests and assessment

See all studies in Cognitive tests and assessment →