Home › Research › Cognitive tests and assessment
Increasing participant diversity in AD research: Plans for digital screening, blood testing, and a community-engaged approach in the Alzheimer's Disease Neuroimaging Initiative 4
Weiner MW, Veitch DP, Miller MJ, Aisen PS, Albala B, Beckett LA, Green RC, Harvey D et al.. Alzheimer's & dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association, 2022-10-09
Topic: Plasma and spinal-fluid biomarkers
Introduction The Alzheimer's Disease Neuroimaging Initiative (ADNI) aims to validate biomarkers for Alzheimer's disease (AD) clinical trials. To improve generalizability, ADNI4 aims to enroll 50-60% of its new participants from underrepresented populations (URPs) using new biofluid and digital technologies. ADNI4 has received funding from the National Institute on Aging beginning September 2022. Methods ADNI4 will recruit URPs using community-engaged approaches. An online portal will screen 20,000 participants, 4000 of whom (50-60% URPs) will be tested for plasma biomarkers and APOE. From this, 500 new participants will undergo in-clinic assessment joining 500 ADNI3 rollover participants. Remaining participants (∼3500) will undergo longitudinal plasma and digital cognitive testing. ADNI4 will add MRI sequences and new PET tracers. Project 1 will optimize biomarkers in AD clinical trials. Results and discussion ADNI4 will improve generalizability of results, use remote digital and blood screening, and continue providing longitudinal clinical, biomarker, and autopsy data to investigators.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Weiner, M. W., Veitch, D. P., Miller, M. J., Aisen, P. S., Albala, B., Beckett, L. A., et al. (2023). Increasing participant diversity in AD research: Plans for digital screening, blood testing, and a community-engaged approach in the Alzheimer's Disease Neuroimaging Initiative 4. Alzheimer's & dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association. https://doi.org/10.1002/alz.12797
Vancouver
Weiner MW, Veitch DP, Miller MJ, Aisen PS, Albala B, Beckett LA, et al. Increasing participant diversity in AD research: Plans for digital screening, blood testing, and a community-engaged approach in the Alzheimer's Disease Neuroimaging Initiative 4. Alzheimer's & dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association. 2023. doi:10.1002/alz.12797. PMID: 36209495.
BibTeX
@article{weiner2023-36209495,
author = {Weiner, M. W. and Veitch, D. P. and Miller, M. J. and Aisen, P. S. and Albala, B. and Beckett, L. A. and Green, R. C. and Harvey, D. and others},
title = {{Increasing participant diversity in AD research: Plans for digital screening, blood testing, and a community-engaged approach in the Alzheimer's Disease Neuroimaging Initiative 4}},
journal = {Alzheimer's \& dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association},
year = {2023},
doi = {10.1002/alz.12797},
pmid = {36209495},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1002/alz.12797}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- Results and discussion ADNI4 will improve generalizability of results, use remote digital and blood screening, and continue providing longitudinal clinical, biomarker, and autopsy data to investigators.
Study details
- Study designlongitudinal study
- Participants20,000
- Evidence strengthModerate
How this study scored 74/100
Published in a leading specialty journal, and it is a longitudinal study following the same people over time. Scored zero for effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 43 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 74 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 9 / 10 | Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (Alzheimer's & dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 7 / 12 | A longitudinal study following the same people over time |
| Strength of evidence | 3 / 5 | Rated “moderate” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 3 / 5 | 2023 — within 6 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 4 / 4 | 20,000 participants |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (participant count stated) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 36209495) |
| Free to read | 2 / 2 | Free to read |
| Points | 43 / 58 | Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 43 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 74 out of 100. |
| Total | 74 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Related studies in Cognitive tests and assessment
Also tagged “neurofilament”
696 studies in the library carry the topic tag “neurofilament”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 696 tagged studies.