Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 48 out of 100. Biomarkers

Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis

Thirty-three AD subjects, aged 69.3 ± 8.2 years (mean ± standard deviation), 18 females, and 22 HCs aged 70.5 ± 13.3 years, 15 females, were evaluated. Regional hippocampal qT1 was higher in AD (1,398 ± 53.0 ms versus 1,349 ± 53.4 ms; p = 0.002), without difference across cognitive subgroups stratified by MMSE. AD subjects exhibited increased qT1 in mesial temporal gray matter and temporo-parieto-occipital cortices (1,448 ± 55.7 ms versus 1,344 ± 51.6 ms; p < 0.001). Voxel-level modelling revealed a positive association between qT1 and amyloid-PET SUVr (p < 0.001; d = 0.223). qT1 mapping can be sensitive to changes related to brain amyloidosis, supporting its role as a promising, noninvasive imaging biomarker in AD. KEY POINTS: Question Can qT1 mapping detect AD-related microstructural changes in the cortico-limbic gray matter? Findings Participants with AD showed increased cortico-limbic qT1 values. A subtle yet consistent positive association was observed between cortical qT1 values and amyloid-PET SUVr. Relevance statement qT1 mapping captures microstructural tissue alterations related to amyloid pathology in Alzheimer's disease, supporting its role as a potential non-invasive imaging biomarker in this condition.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Gualco, L., Montobbio, N., Losa, M., Costagli, M., Massa, F., Orso, B., et al. (2026). T1 mapping in Alzheimer’s disease: a quantitative MRI study with amyloid-PET correlation. European Radiology Experimental. https://doi.org/10.1186/s41747-026-00792-1

Vancouver

Gualco L, Montobbio N, Losa M, Costagli M, Massa F, Orso B, et al. T1 mapping in Alzheimer’s disease: a quantitative MRI study with amyloid-PET correlation. European Radiology Experimental. 2026. doi:10.1186/s41747-026-00792-1. PMID: 42766053.

BibTeX

@article{gualco2026-42766053,
  author  = {Gualco, Lorenzo and Montobbio, Noemi and Losa, Mattia and Costagli, Mauro and Massa, Federico and Orso, Beatrice and Argenti, Lucia and Peira, Enrico and others},
  title   = {{T1 mapping in Alzheimer’s disease: a quantitative MRI study with amyloid-PET correlation}},
  journal = {European Radiology Experimental},
  year    = {2026},
  doi     = {10.1186/s41747-026-00792-1},
  pmid    = {42766053},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1186/s41747-026-00792-1}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Why it matters

In 33 AD subjects and 22 healthy controls, a quantitative MRI measure called qT1 was higher in AD in several brain regions and was positively associated with amyloid PET. This small study supports qT1 mapping as a potential noninvasive imaging biomarker, not a treatment or cure.

Study details

How this study scored 48/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 5 of 5; Sample size 1 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here 0 of 6; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 2 of 2. 31 of the 64 points it could be judged on, which is 48 of 100. Total 48 of 100.31 of the 64 points we could judge = 48 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 31 of the 64 points we could judge it on, which is 48 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (European Radiology Experimental)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 5 / 5 2026 — within 1 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 1 / 4 16 participants
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here 0 / 6 No other study in this library cites it
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 42766053)
Free to read 2 / 2 Free to read
Points 31 / 64 Scored on 12 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 31 of the 64 points we could judge it on is 48 out of 100.
Total 48 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Studies this one cites

Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here.

Related studies in Biomarkers

Also tagged “classification”

835 studies in the library carry the topic tag “classification”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 835 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Biomarkers

See all studies in Biomarkers →