Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

⚠ Preprint — not yet peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 16 out of 100. Biomarkers

Topic: Plasma and spinal-fluid biomarkers

Background In preclinical Alzheimer's disease (AD), longitudinal trajectories of blood-based biomarkers and their relationship to brain amyloid pathology, synaptic density and neuroinflammation in cognitively unimpaired individuals stratified by apolipoprotein E ( APOE ) ε4 genotype remain poorly characterized. Methods We measured plasma tau phosphorylated at threonine 217 (p-tau217), glial fibrillary acidic protein (GFAP), neurofilament light chain (NfL), synaptosomal-associated protein 25 (SNAP25) and neurogranin (NRGN) using the nucleic acid-linked immuno-sandwich assay (NULISA) platform at baseline (n = 60) and after 4.4 years (n = 45) in cognitively unimpaired older adults ( APOE ε4/ε4, n = 19; ε4/ε3, n = 21; ε3/ε3, n = 20 at baseline). Longitudinal biomarker changes were analyzed using linear mixed-effects models. Associations with [ 11 C]PiB (amyloid) and [ 11 C]PK11195 (neuroinflammation) positron emission tomography (PET) at baseline and [ 11 C]UCB-J (synaptic density) PET were examined using multiple linear regression. Results GFAP increased over time in all genotype groups and NfL in the ε4/ε4 and ε3/ε3 groups, with no group differences in rate of change. Plasma p-tau217 was the only biomarker robustly associated with amyloid burden at both timepoints. Synaptic markers showed minimal longitudinal change and no association with synaptic density PET. Conclusions These findings support a model in which p-tau217 specifically tracks amyloid-driven pathological progression, while markers of neurodegeneration reflect broader age-related processes that are not associated with APOE genotype.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Koivumäki, M., Snellman, A., Ekblad, L., Benedet, A., Zetterberg, H., & Rinne, J. (2026). Longitudinal plasma biomarkers and multimodal PET across APOE ε4 genotypes: a prospective cohort study. Research Square. https://doi.org/10.21203/rs.3.rs-11294615/v1

Vancouver

Koivumäki M, Snellman A, Ekblad L, Benedet A, Zetterberg H, Rinne J. Longitudinal plasma biomarkers and multimodal PET across APOE ε4 genotypes: a prospective cohort study. Research Square. 2026. doi:10.21203/rs.3.rs-11294615/v1.

BibTeX

@article{koivumaki2026-19abfe03,
  author  = {Koivumäki, M. and Snellman, A. and Ekblad, L. and Benedet, A. and Zetterberg, H. and Rinne, J.},
  title   = {{Longitudinal plasma biomarkers and multimodal PET across APOE ε4 genotypes: a prospective cohort study}},
  journal = {Research Square},
  year    = {2026},
  doi     = {10.21203/rs.3.rs-11294615/v1},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.21203/rs.3.rs-11294615/v1}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 16/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 2 of 10; Journal's citation record 0 of 4; Study design 7 of 12; Strength of evidence 3 of 5; Peer-review validation 4 of 10; How recent 5 of 5; Sample size 1 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 1 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. 26 of the 62 points it could be judged on, which is 42 of 100. Raw total 42 of 100, shown as 16 because this is not a peer-reviewed research article.raw total 42 of 100capped at 16 — hatched points do not count

Preprint — not yet peer-reviewed. It scored 42 on the same rubric, but non-peer-reviewed sources are capped at 16, so it shows as 16. Scored zero for effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 26 of the 62 points we could judge it on, which is 42 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 2 / 10 Tier 4 — not a peer-reviewed journal (Research Square)
Journal's citation record 0 / 4 Not a journal article, so the journal's record does not count
Study design 7 / 12 A longitudinal study following the same people over time
Strength of evidence 3 / 5 Rated “moderate” in our summary
Peer-review validation 4 / 10 Preprint — not yet peer-reviewed. Hosted on a preprint server.
How recent 5 / 5 2026 — within 1 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 1 / 4 60 participants
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 1 / 2 Not in PubMed, but has a DOI
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Points 26 / 62 Scored on 12 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 26 of the 62 points we could judge it on is 42 out of 100.
Total 42 / 100 Capped to 16 because this is not a peer-reviewed article.

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Related studies in Biomarkers

Also tagged “neurofilament”

696 studies in the library carry the topic tag “neurofilament”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 696 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Biomarkers

See all studies in Biomarkers →