Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 43 out of 100. Hippocampus size on brain scans

Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis

Background and purpose Different biomarkers for AD may potentially be complementary in diagnosis and prognosis of AD. Our aim was to combine MR imaging, FDG-PET, and CSF biomarkers in the diagnostic classification and 2-year prognosis of MCI and AD, by examining the following: 1) which measures are most sensitive to diagnostic status, 2) to what extent the methods provide unique information in diagnostic classification, and 3) which measures are most predictive of clinical decline. Materials and methods ADNI baseline MR imaging, FDG-PET, and CSF data from 42 controls, 73 patients with MCI, and 38 patients with AD; and 2-year clinical follow-up data for 36 controls, 51 patients with MCI, and 25 patients with AD were analyzed. The hippocampus and entorhinal, parahippocampal, retrosplenial, precuneus, inferior parietal, supramarginal, middle temporal, lateral, and medial orbitofrontal cortices were used as regions of interest. CSF variables included Abeta42, t-tau, p-tau, and ratios of t-tau/Abeta42 and p-tau/Abeta42. Regression analyses were performed to determine the sensitivity of measures to diagnostic status as well as 2-year change in CDR-SB, MMSE, and delayed logical memory in MCI. Results Hippocampal volume, retrosplenial thickness, and t-tau/Abeta42 uniquely predicted diagnostic group. Change in CDR-SB was best predicted by retrosplenial thickness; MMSE, by retrosplenial metabolism and thickness; and delayed logical memory, by hippocampal volume. Conclusions All biomarkers were sensitive to the diagnostic group. Combining MR imaging morphometry and CSF biomarkers improved diagnostic classification (controls versus AD). MR imaging morphometry and PET were largely overlapping in value for discrimination. Baseline MR imaging and PET measures were more predictive of clinical change in MCI than were CSF measures.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 43/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 1 of 5; Sample size 1 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. 25 of the 58 points it could be judged on, which is 43 of 100. Total 43 of 100.25 of the 58 points we could judge = 43 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 25 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 43 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (AJNR. American journal of neuroradiology)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 1 / 5 2010 — within 20 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 1 / 4 73 participants
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 20075088)
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Points 25 / 58 Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 25 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 43 out of 100.
Total 43 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Walhovd, K. B., Fjell, A. M., Brewer, J., McEvoy, L. K., Fennema-Notestine, C., Hagler, D. J., et al. (2010). Combining MR imaging, positron-emission tomography, and CSF biomarkers in the diagnosis and prognosis of Alzheimer disease. AJNR. American journal of neuroradiology. https://doi.org/10.3174/ajnr.a1809

Vancouver

Walhovd KB, Fjell AM, Brewer J, McEvoy LK, Fennema-Notestine C, Hagler DJ, et al. Combining MR imaging, positron-emission tomography, and CSF biomarkers in the diagnosis and prognosis of Alzheimer disease. AJNR. American journal of neuroradiology. 2010. doi:10.3174/ajnr.a1809. PMID: 20075088.

BibTeX

@article{walhovd2010-20075088,
  author  = {Walhovd, K. B. and Fjell, A. M. and Brewer, J. and McEvoy, L. K. and Fennema-Notestine, C. and Hagler, D. J. and Jennings, R. G. and Karow, D. and others},
  title   = {{Combining MR imaging, positron-emission tomography, and CSF biomarkers in the diagnosis and prognosis of Alzheimer disease}},
  journal = {AJNR. American journal of neuroradiology},
  year    = {2010},
  doi     = {10.3174/ajnr.a1809},
  pmid    = {20075088},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.3174/ajnr.a1809}
}

Related studies in Hippocampus size on brain scans

Also tagged “classification”

835 studies in the library carry the topic tag “classification”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 835 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Hippocampus size on brain scans

See all studies in Hippocampus size on brain scans →