Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 57 out of 100. Brain tissue and pathology

Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies

Background Mid-life stroke risk factors have been related to late-life cognitive impairment. This association may result not only from clinical strokes but also from subclinical brain injury, such as a global atrophy demonstrable on quantitative brain MRI. Methods The authors evaluated the community-based cohort of Framingham Offspring Study participants.

Key findings

Why it matters

In 1,841 community-based participants free of clinical stroke and dementia, this study examined whether midlife stroke risk factors relate to late-life cognitive impairment and global brain atrophy on MRI. It reports associations and does not show that treating stroke risk factors prevents dementia.

Study details

How this study scored 57/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 9 of 10; Journal's citation record 4 of 4; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 3 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 1 of 5; Sample size 3 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited 5 of 7; Citations per year 3 of 5; Impact for its field and year 3 of 6; Cited by studies here 3 of 6; Still being cited 2 of 4; Senior author's track record 4 of 4; Institution's track record 1 of 3; Multi-centre collaboration 1 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. Total 57 of 100.57 of 100 points earned43 not earned

Published in a leading specialty journal. Scored zero for study design, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 9 / 10 Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (Neurology)
Journal's citation record 4 / 4 Neurology: journal h-index 525 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29)
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 3 / 5 Rated “moderate” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 1 / 5 2004 — older than 20 years, still counted
Sample size 3 / 4 1,841 participants
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited 5 / 7 Cited 230 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 3 / 5 9.6 citations a year over 24 year(s) since 2004
Impact for its field and year 3 / 6 Cited 5.0× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI)
Cited by studies here 3 / 6 Cited by 21 other studies in this library
Still being cited 2 / 4 Cited 19 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record 4 / 4 Last-listed author Charles S DeCarli: h-index 150 (OpenAlex, whole career)
Institution's track record 1 / 3 Boston University: institution h-index 1,456 (OpenAlex)
Multi-centre collaboration 1 / 3 OpenAlex lists 3 institution(s) in 1 country
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 15534241)
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Total 57 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

May need a subscription OpenAlex found no free copy of the full text (checked 6 Feb 1020), so the publisher may charge for it. The PubMed abstract is free.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record names 8 authors; APA and Vancouver show the first six, BibTeX and the downloads carry all of them. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Seshadri, S., Wolf, P. A., Beiser, A., Elias, M. F., Au, R., Kase, C. S., et al. (2004). Stroke risk profile, brain volume, and cognitive function: the Framingham Offspring Study. Neurology. https://doi.org/10.1212/01.wnl.0000142968.22691.70

Vancouver

Seshadri S, Wolf PA, Beiser A, Elias MF, Au R, Kase CS, et al. Stroke risk profile, brain volume, and cognitive function: the Framingham Offspring Study. Neurology. 2004. doi:10.1212/01.wnl.0000142968.22691.70. PMID: 15534241.

BibTeX

@article{seshadri2004-15534241,
  author  = {Seshadri, S. and Wolf, P. A. and Beiser, A. and Elias, M. F. and Au, R. and Kase, C. S. and D'Agostino, R. B. and DeCarli, C.},
  title   = {{Stroke risk profile, brain volume, and cognitive function: the Framingham Offspring Study}},
  journal = {Neurology},
  year    = {2004},
  doi     = {10.1212/01.wnl.0000142968.22691.70},
  pmid    = {15534241},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1212/01.wnl.0000142968.22691.70}
}

Studies this one cites

Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here.

Later studies that cite this one

21 studies in the alzhub library list this one in their references. Showing the 8 highest-scoring.

Related studies in Brain tissue and pathology

Similar studies

More on Brain tissue and pathology

See all studies in Brain tissue and pathology →