Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 41 out of 100. Vascular contributions

Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies

In the overall cohort (28 403 risperidone users and 136 324 mtatched controls), risperidone was associated with increased risk of stroke (adjusted hazard ratio: 1.28; 95% CI: 1.20-1.37). In the risperidone user group, the incidence rate of stroke was substantially higher in those with a prior history of stroke (incidence rate: 222 per 1000 person-years) and CVD (incidence rate: 94.1 per 1000 person-years) than in the overall cohort (incidence rate: 53.3 per 1000 person-years). Relative risks related to risperidone were similar across all CVD and stroke subgroup comparisons (hazard ratios between 1.23 and 1.44). People with dementia with a prior history of CVD are at a significant increased risk of stroke, and risperidone further exacerbates this risk. Moreover, risperidone increases risk of stroke in patients without a prior history of CVD. This quantification of stroke risk across subgroups with and without history of CVD may help with communication of risk and aid more judicious prescribing.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Choma, J., Griffiths, A. W., Henley, W., Mueller, C. S., Williams, N. H., Ballard, C. G., et al. (2025). Risk of stroke associated with risperidone in dementia with and without comorbid cardiovascular disease: population-based matched cohort study. The British Journal of Psychiatry. https://doi.org/10.1192/bjp.2025.10419

Vancouver

Choma J, Griffiths AW, Henley W, Mueller CS, Williams NH, Ballard CG, et al. Risk of stroke associated with risperidone in dementia with and without comorbid cardiovascular disease: population-based matched cohort study. The British Journal of Psychiatry. 2025. doi:10.1192/bjp.2025.10419. PMID: 41063545.

BibTeX

@article{choma2025-41063545,
  author  = {Choma, Joshua and Griffiths, Alys Wyn and Henley, William and Mueller, Christoph S. and Williams, Nefyn Howard and Ballard, Clive G. and Hopkins, Rhian and Young, Katherine and others},
  title   = {{Risk of stroke associated with risperidone in dementia with and without comorbid cardiovascular disease: population-based matched cohort study}},
  journal = {The British Journal of Psychiatry},
  year    = {2025},
  doi     = {10.1192/bjp.2025.10419},
  pmid    = {41063545},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1192/bjp.2025.10419}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Why it matters

In this population-based matched cohort, risperidone use in people with dementia was associated with a 28% increased risk of stroke, and this risk was higher in those with prior cardiovascular disease or stroke. The findings may help communicate risk and support more judicious prescribing.

Study details

How this study scored 41/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record 3 of 4; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 3 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 4 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 0 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited 1 of 7; Citations per year 1 of 5; Impact for its field and year 2 of 6; Cited by studies here 0 of 6; Still being cited 1 of 4; Senior author's track record 2 of 4; Institution's track record 1 of 3; Multi-centre collaboration 2 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 2 of 2. Total 41 of 100.41 of 100 points earned59 not earned

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (The British Journal of Psychiatry)
Journal's citation record 3 / 4 The British Journal of Psychiatry: journal h-index 376 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29)
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 3 / 5 Rated “moderate” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 4 / 5 2025 — within 3 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 0 / 3 Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited 1 / 7 Cited 3 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 1 / 5 1.0 citations a year over 3 year(s) since 2025
Impact for its field and year 2 / 6 Cited 1.9× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI)
Cited by studies here 0 / 6 No other study in this library cites it
Still being cited 1 / 4 Cited 3 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record 2 / 4 Last-listed author Byron Creese: h-index 33 (OpenAlex, whole career)
Institution's track record 1 / 3 King's College London: institution h-index 1,348 (OpenAlex)
Multi-centre collaboration 2 / 3 OpenAlex lists 5 institution(s) in 1 country
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 41063545)
Free to read 2 / 2 Free to read
Total 41 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).

Studies this one cites

Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here.

Related studies in Vascular contributions

Also tagged “biobank”

1,084 studies in the library carry the topic tag “biobank”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 1,084 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Vascular contributions

See all studies in Vascular contributions →