Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 52 out of 100. Biomarkers

Topic: Plasma and spinal-fluid biomarkers

We examined whether plasma p-tau181 and p-tau217 are specific biomarkers of pathologically confirmed Alzheimer's disease (AD). In particular, we investigated the utility of plasma p-tau for differentiating AD from primary age-related tauopathy (PART), as well as AD with mixed pathologies. Data came from 269 older adults who participated in the Religious Orders Study or the Rush Memory and Aging Project. Blood samples were collected during annual clinical evaluations. Participants died and underwent brain autopsy. P-tau181 and p-tau217 were quantified in the plasma samples proximate to death (average interval before death: 1.4 years) using Lilly-developed MSD immunoassays. Uniform neuropathologic evaluations assessed AD, PART, and other common degenerative and cerebrovascular conditions. Plasma p-tau217 was more strongly correlated with brain β-amyloid and paired helical filament tau (PHFtau) tangles than p-tau181. Both p-tau markers were associated with greater odds of AD, but p-tau217 had higher accuracy (area under the ROC curve (AUC): 0.83) than p-tau181 (AUC: 0.76). Plasma p-tau markers were almost exclusively associated with AD pathologic indices with the exception of cerebral amyloid angiopathy. Compared to p-tau181, p-tau217 showed a higher AUC (0.82 versus 0.74) in differentiating AD from PART. For either p-tau, we did not observe a level difference between individuals with AD alone and those with mixed AD pathologies. In summary, plasma p-tau181and p-tau217 were specifically associated with AD pathological changes. Further, our data provide initial evidence that p-tau217 may be able to differentiate between AD and PART in individuals with comparable burdens of tau tangle pathology. These results demonstrate the specificity of p-tau217 for AD, supporting its use to identify patients suitable for anti-AD therapies including β-amyloid immunotherapies.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 52/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 9 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 3 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 3 of 3; Studied in people 0 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 2 of 2. 30 of the 58 points it could be judged on, which is 52 of 100. Total 52 of 100.30 of the 58 points we could judge = 52 of 100

Published in a leading specialty journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 30 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 52 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 9 / 10 Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (Acta neuropathologica)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 3 / 5 2023 — within 6 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 3 / 3 Effect reported with a statistic (interval, p-value, ratio or similar)
Studied in people 0 / 3 Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 37031430)
Free to read 2 / 2 Free to read
Points 30 / 58 Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 30 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 52 out of 100.
Total 52 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record names 8 authors; APA and Vancouver show the first six, BibTeX and the downloads carry all of them. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Yu, L., Boyle, P. A., Janelidze, S., Petyuk, V. A., Wang, T., Bennett, D. A., et al. (2023). Plasma p-tau181 and p-tau217 in discriminating PART, AD and other key neuropathologies in older adults. Acta neuropathologica. https://doi.org/10.1007/s00401-023-02570-4

Vancouver

Yu L, Boyle PA, Janelidze S, Petyuk VA, Wang T, Bennett DA, et al. Plasma p-tau181 and p-tau217 in discriminating PART, AD and other key neuropathologies in older adults. Acta neuropathologica. 2023. doi:10.1007/s00401-023-02570-4. PMID: 37031430.

BibTeX

@article{yu2023-37031430,
  author  = {Yu, L. and Boyle, P. A. and Janelidze, S. and Petyuk, V. A. and Wang, T. and Bennett, D. A. and Hansson, O. and Schneider, J. A.},
  title   = {{Plasma p-tau181 and p-tau217 in discriminating PART, AD and other key neuropathologies in older adults}},
  journal = {Acta neuropathologica},
  year    = {2023},
  doi     = {10.1007/s00401-023-02570-4},
  pmid    = {37031430},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1007/s00401-023-02570-4}
}

Related studies in Biomarkers

Also tagged “blood-based”

698 studies in the library carry the topic tag “blood-based”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 698 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Biomarkers

See all studies in Biomarkers →