Home › Research › Biomarkers
Differences Between Plasma and Cerebrospinal Fluid p-tau181 and p-tau231 in Early Alzheimer's Disease
Andrea Pilotto, Marta Parigi, Giulio Bonzi, Beatrice Battaglio, Elisabetta Ferrari, Lorenza Mensi, Alberto Benussi, Salvatore Caratozzolo et al.. Journal of Alzheimer's disease : JAD, 2022
Topic: Plasma and spinal-fluid biomarkers
Plasma phosphorylated tau species have been recently proposed as peripheral markers of Alzheimer's disease (AD) pathology. In this cross-sectional study including 91 subjects, plasma and cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) p-tau181 and p-tau231 levels were elevated in the early symptomatic stages of AD. Plasma p-tau231 and p-tau181 were strongly related to CSF phosphorylated tau, total tau and amyloid and exhibited a high accuracy-close to CSF p-tau231 and p-tau181-to identify AD already in the early stage of the disease. The findings might support the use as diagnostic and prognostic peripheral AD biomarkers in both research and clinical settings.
Key findings
- Plasma phosphorylated tau species have been recently proposed as peripheral markers of Alzheimer's disease (AD) pathology.
- In this cross-sectional study including 91 subjects, plasma and cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) p-tau181 and p-tau231 levels were elevated in the early symptomatic stages of AD.
- Plasma p-tau231 and p-tau181 were strongly related to CSF phosphorylated tau, total tau and amyloid and exhibited a high accuracy-close to CSF p-tau231 and p-tau181-to identify AD already in the early stage of the disease.
- The findings might support the use as diagnostic and prognostic peripheral AD biomarkers in both research and clinical settings.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Blood tests & biomarkers →
Study details
- Study designcross-sectional
- Participants91
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 55/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal, and it is a snapshot of people at one point in time. Scored zero for effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record, multi-centre collaboration and free to read, so those were left out: it earned 31 of the 56 points we could judge it on, which is 55 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Journal of Alzheimer's disease : JAD) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 4 / 12 | A snapshot of people at one point in time |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 3 / 5 | 2022 — within 6 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 1 / 4 | 91 participants |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (participant count stated) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 35404280) |
| Free to read | — / 2 | Access not recorded — left out of this score |
| Points | 31 / 56 | Scored on 10 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 31 of the 56 points we could judge it on is 55 out of 100. |
| Total | 55 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
APA 7th
Pilotto, A., Parigi, M., Bonzi, G., Battaglio, B., Ferrari, E., Mensi, L., et al. (2022). Differences Between Plasma and Cerebrospinal Fluid p-tau181 and p-tau231 in Early Alzheimer's Disease. Journal of Alzheimer's disease : JAD. https://doi.org/10.3233/jad-215646
Vancouver
Pilotto A, Parigi M, Bonzi G, Battaglio B, Ferrari E, Mensi L, et al. Differences Between Plasma and Cerebrospinal Fluid p-tau181 and p-tau231 in Early Alzheimer's Disease. Journal of Alzheimer's disease : JAD. 2022. doi:10.3233/jad-215646. PMID: 35404280.
BibTeX
@article{pilotto2022-35404280,
author = {Pilotto, Andrea and Parigi, Marta and Bonzi, Giulio and Battaglio, Beatrice and Ferrari, Elisabetta and Mensi, Lorenza and Benussi, Alberto and Caratozzolo, Salvatore and others},
title = {{Differences Between Plasma and Cerebrospinal Fluid p-tau181 and p-tau231 in Early Alzheimer's Disease}},
journal = {Journal of Alzheimer's disease : JAD},
year = {2022},
doi = {10.3233/jad-215646},
pmid = {35404280},
url = {https://doi.org/10.3233/jad-215646}
}