Home › Research › Cognitive tests and assessment
Motor signs predict poor outcomes in Alzheimer disease
Scarmeas N, Albert M, Brandt J, Blacker D, Hadjigeorgiou G, Papadimitriou A, Dubois B, Sarazin M et al.. Neurology, 2005-05-01
Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis
Objective To examine whether the presence of motor signs has predictive value for important outcomes in Alzheimer disease (AD). Methods A total of 533 patients with AD at early stages (mean Folstein Mini-Mental State Examination [MMSE] 21/30 at entry) were recruited and followed semiannually for up to 13.1 years (mean 3) in five University-based AD centers in the United States and European Union. Four outcomes, assessed every 6 months, were used in Cox models: cognitive endpoint (Columbia Mini-Mental State Examination or = 10), institutionalization equivalent index, and death.
Key findings
- Methods A total of 533 patients with AD at early stages (mean Folstein Mini-Mental State Examination [MMSE] 21/30 at entry) were recruited and followed semiannually for up to 13.1 years (mean 3) in five University-based AD centers in the United States and European Union.
- Four outcomes, assessed every 6 months, were used in Cox models: cognitive endpoint (Columbia Mini-Mental State Examination or = 10), institutionalization equivalent index, and death.
- Using a standardized portion of the Unified PD Rating Scale (administered every 6 months for a total of 3,149 visit-assessments, average 5.9 per patient), the presence of motor signs, as well as of individual motor sign domains, was examined as time-dependent predictor.
- The models controlled for cohort, recruitment center, sex, age, education, a comorbidity index, and baseline cognitive and functional performance.
Why it matters
This study followed 533 patients with early Alzheimer's disease for up to 13.1 years to examine whether motor signs predict outcomes such as cognitive endpoint, institutionalization, and death. It is about predicting disease course and does not test any treatment, so it says nothing about curing or preventing Alzheimer's disease.
Study details
- Participants533
- Evidence strengthModerate
How this study scored 57/100
Published in a leading specialty journal. Scored zero for study design, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 9 / 10 | Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (Neurology) |
| Journal's citation record | 4 / 4 | Neurology: journal h-index 525 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29) |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 3 / 5 | Rated “moderate” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 1 / 5 | 2005 — older than 20 years, still counted |
| Sample size | 2 / 4 | 533 participants |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (participant count stated) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | 5 / 7 | Cited 200 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10) |
| Citations per year | 3 / 5 | 8.7 citations a year over 23 year(s) since 2005 |
| Impact for its field and year | 4 / 6 | Cited 8.3× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI) |
| Cited by studies here | 2 / 6 | Cited by 7 other studies in this library |
| Still being cited | 2 / 4 | Cited 17 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex) |
| Senior author's track record | 4 / 4 | Last-listed author Yaakov Stern: h-index 162 (OpenAlex, whole career) |
| Institution's track record | 2 / 3 | Johns Hopkins University: institution h-index 2,306 (OpenAlex) |
| Multi-centre collaboration | 1 / 3 | OpenAlex lists 2 institution(s) in 1 country |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 15911793) |
| Free to read | 0 / 2 | Behind a paywall — scores zero |
| Total | 57 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
- DOI: 10.1212/01.wnl.0000162054.15428.e9
- PubMed: 15911793
- Original source →
- Free full text: PubMed Central →
Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
APA 7th
Scarmeas, N., Albert, M., Brandt, J., Blacker, D., Hadjigeorgiou, G., Papadimitriou, A., et al. (2005). Motor signs predict poor outcomes in Alzheimer disease. Neurology. https://doi.org/10.1212/01.wnl.0000162054.15428.e9
Vancouver
Scarmeas N, Albert M, Brandt J, Blacker D, Hadjigeorgiou G, Papadimitriou A, et al. Motor signs predict poor outcomes in Alzheimer disease. Neurology. 2005. doi:10.1212/01.wnl.0000162054.15428.e9. PMID: 15911793.
BibTeX
@article{scarmeas2005-15911793,
author = {Scarmeas, N. and Albert, M. and Brandt, J. and Blacker, D. and Hadjigeorgiou, G. and Papadimitriou, A. and Dubois, B. and Sarazin, M. and others},
title = {{Motor signs predict poor outcomes in Alzheimer disease}},
journal = {Neurology},
year = {2005},
doi = {10.1212/01.wnl.0000162054.15428.e9},
pmid = {15911793},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1212/01.wnl.0000162054.15428.e9}
}
Studies this one cites
Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here.
Later studies that cite this one
7 studies in the alzhub library list this one in their references.
Related studies in Cognitive tests and assessment
Also in Cognitive tests and assessment
88 studies in the library are filed under Cognitive tests and assessment with no topic tag they share with another; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed tour of them. The Cognitive tests and assessment hub.