Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 57 out of 100. Cognitive tests and assessment

Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies

Background Apathy is an important and distressing behavioural symptom in Alzheimer's disease and in various neuropsychiatric disorders. Recently, diagnostic criteria for apathy have been proposed. Objectives In groups of patients suffering from different neuropsychiatric diseases, (i) to estimate the prevalence of patients meeting the proposed diagnostic criteria; (ii) to estimate the concurrent validity of the criteria with the neuropsychiatric inventory (NPI) apathy item; (iii) to identify the most frequently met criteria or sub-criteria in each specific neuropsychiatric disease and (iv) to estimate the inter-observer reliability of the diagnostic criteria for apathy.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Mulin, E., Leone, E., Dujardin, K., Delliaux, M., Leentjens, A., Nobili, F., et al. (2011). Diagnostic criteria for apathy in clinical practice. International journal of geriatric psychiatry. https://doi.org/10.1002/gps.2508

Vancouver

Mulin E, Leone E, Dujardin K, Delliaux M, Leentjens A, Nobili F, et al. Diagnostic criteria for apathy in clinical practice. International journal of geriatric psychiatry. 2011. doi:10.1002/gps.2508. PMID: 20690145.

BibTeX

@article{mulin2011-20690145,
  author  = {Mulin, E. and Leone, E. and Dujardin, K. and Delliaux, M. and Leentjens, A. and Nobili, F. and Dessi, B. and Tible, O. and others},
  title   = {{Diagnostic criteria for apathy in clinical practice}},
  journal = {International journal of geriatric psychiatry},
  year    = {2011},
  doi     = {10.1002/gps.2508},
  pmid    = {20690145},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1002/gps.2508}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Why it matters

This cross-sectional study of 306 patients examined the prevalence and validity of proposed diagnostic criteria for apathy in various neuropsychiatric diseases. It is about diagnosing apathy and does not test any treatment, so it says nothing about curing or preventing Alzheimer's disease.

Study details

How this study scored 57/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record 2 of 4; Study design 4 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 1 of 5; Sample size 2 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited 5 of 7; Citations per year 3 of 5; Impact for its field and year 4 of 6; Cited by studies here 2 of 6; Still being cited 2 of 4; Senior author's track record 3 of 4; Institution's track record 3 of 3; Multi-centre collaboration 3 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. Total 57 of 100.57 of 100 points earned43 not earned

Published in a peer-reviewed journal, and it is a snapshot of people at one point in time. Scored zero for effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (International journal of geriatric psychiatry)
Journal's citation record 2 / 4 International Journal of Geriatric Psychiatry: journal h-index 190 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29)
Study design 4 / 12 A snapshot of people at one point in time
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 1 / 5 2011 — within 20 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 2 / 4 306 participants
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited 5 / 7 Cited 221 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 3 / 5 13.0 citations a year over 17 year(s) since 2011
Impact for its field and year 4 / 6 Cited 11.8× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI)
Cited by studies here 2 / 6 Cited by 3 other studies in this library
Still being cited 2 / 4 Cited 17 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record 3 / 4 Last-listed author Philippe Henri Robert: h-index 61 (OpenAlex, whole career)
Institution's track record 3 / 3 Stanford University: institution h-index 2,684 (OpenAlex)
Multi-centre collaboration 3 / 3 OpenAlex lists 13 institution(s) in 6 countries
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 20690145)
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Total 57 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

May need a subscription OpenAlex found no free copy of the full text (checked 6 Feb 1020), so the publisher may charge for it. The PubMed abstract is free.

Studies this one cites

Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here.

Later studies that cite this one

3 studies in the alzhub library list this one in their references.

Related studies in Cognitive tests and assessment

Also in Cognitive tests and assessment

88 studies in the library are filed under Cognitive tests and assessment with no topic tag they share with another; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed tour of them. The Cognitive tests and assessment hub.

Similar studies

More on Cognitive tests and assessment

See all studies in Cognitive tests and assessment →