Home › Research › Brain scans and imaging
Flortaucipir F 18 Quantitation Using Parametric Estimation of Reference Signal Intensity
Southekal S, Devous MD, Kennedy I, Navitsky M, Lu M, Joshi AD, Pontecorvo MJ, Mintun MA.. Journal of nuclear medicine : official publication, Society of Nuclear Medicine, 2017-11-30
Topic: Brain proteins, microglia and lab models
PERSI showed superior test-retest reproducibility (1.84%) and group separation ability (cross-sectional Cohen d = 9.45; longitudinal Cohen d = 2.34) compared with other reference regions. Baseline SUVr variability and ΔSUVr were minimal in Aβ control subjects with no specific flortaucipir F 18 uptake (SUVr, 1.0 ± 0.04; ΔSUVr, 0.0 ± 0.02). PERSI reduced variability while enhancing discrimination between diagnostic cohorts. Such improvements could lead to more accurate disease staging and robust measurements of changes in tau burden over time for the evaluation of putative therapies.
Key findings
- PERSI showed superior test-retest reproducibility (1.84%) and group separation ability (cross-sectional Cohen d = 9.45; longitudinal Cohen d = 2.34) compared with other reference regions.
- Baseline SUVr variability and ΔSUVr were minimal in Aβ control subjects with no specific flortaucipir F 18 uptake (SUVr, 1.0 ± 0.04; ΔSUVr, 0.0 ± 0.02).
- PERSI reduced variability while enhancing discrimination between diagnostic cohorts.
- Such improvements could lead to more accurate disease staging and robust measurements of changes in tau burden over time for the evaluation of putative therapies.
Why it matters
This study describes a new method, PERSI, for quantifying flortaucipir F 18 tau PET scans, which showed better test-retest reproducibility and group separation than other reference regions. The authors suggest this could improve disease staging and measurement of tau changes over time for evaluating potential therapies, but no treatment itself was tested.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Brain scans & tests →
Study details
- Study designcross-sectional
- Participants215
- Effect size1.84%
- Evidence strengthModerate
How this study scored 56/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal, and it is a snapshot of people at one point in time. Scored zero for randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Journal of nuclear medicine : official publication, Society of Nuclear Medicine) |
| Journal's citation record | 2 / 4 | Journal of Nuclear Medicine: journal h-index 230 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29) |
| Study design | 4 / 12 | A snapshot of people at one point in time |
| Strength of evidence | 3 / 5 | Rated “moderate” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 2 / 5 | 2018 — within 10 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 2 / 4 | 215 participants |
| Effect reported | 2 / 3 | Effect reported as a number, without an interval or test |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (participant count stated) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | 4 / 7 | Cited 93 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10) |
| Citations per year | 3 / 5 | 9.3 citations a year over 10 year(s) since 2018 |
| Impact for its field and year | 3 / 6 | Cited 6.6× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI) |
| Cited by studies here | 3 / 6 | Cited by 19 other studies in this library |
| Still being cited | 2 / 4 | Cited 22 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex) |
| Senior author's track record | 4 / 4 | Last-listed author Mark A. Mintun: h-index 131 (OpenAlex, whole career) |
| Institution's track record | 0 / 3 | Avid Radiopharmaceuticals (United States): institution h-index 190 (OpenAlex) |
| Multi-centre collaboration | 0 / 3 | OpenAlex lists 1 institution(s) in 1 country — scores zero (affiliation lists can be incomplete) |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 29191858) |
| Free to read | 0 / 2 | Behind a paywall — scores zero |
| Total | 56 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
- DOI: 10.2967/jnumed.117.200006
- PubMed: 29191858
- Original source →
- Free full text: Journal of Nuclear Medicine →
Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record names 8 authors; APA and Vancouver show the first six, BibTeX and the downloads carry all of them. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
APA 7th
Southekal, S., Devous, M. D., Kennedy, I., Navitsky, M., Lu, M., Joshi, A. D., et al. (2018). Flortaucipir F 18 Quantitation Using Parametric Estimation of Reference Signal Intensity. Journal of nuclear medicine : official publication, Society of Nuclear Medicine. https://doi.org/10.2967/jnumed.117.200006
Vancouver
Southekal S, Devous MD, Kennedy I, Navitsky M, Lu M, Joshi AD, et al. Flortaucipir F 18 Quantitation Using Parametric Estimation of Reference Signal Intensity. Journal of nuclear medicine : official publication, Society of Nuclear Medicine. 2018. doi:10.2967/jnumed.117.200006. PMID: 29191858.
BibTeX
@article{southekal2018-29191858,
author = {Southekal, S. and Devous, M. D. and Kennedy, I. and Navitsky, M. and Lu, M. and Joshi, A. D. and Pontecorvo, M. J. and Mintun, M. A.},
title = {{Flortaucipir F 18 Quantitation Using Parametric Estimation of Reference Signal Intensity}},
journal = {Journal of nuclear medicine : official publication, Society of Nuclear Medicine},
year = {2018},
doi = {10.2967/jnumed.117.200006},
pmid = {29191858},
url = {https://doi.org/10.2967/jnumed.117.200006}
}
Studies this one cites
Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here.
Later studies that cite this one
19 studies in the alzhub library list this one in their references. Showing the 8 highest-scoring.