Home › Research › Treatments
Development and Validation of a Tool to Predict Onset of Mild Cognitive Impairment and Alzheimer Dementia
Chenyin Chu, Yifei Wang, Yihan Wang, Christopher James Fowler, Georgios Zisis, Colin Louis Masters, James D. Doecke, Benjamin Goudey et al.. JAMA Network Open, 2025-01-08
Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies
Among the 1665 AIBL participants (741 [44.5%] female) and 2029 ADNI participants (925 [45.6%] female), the mean (SD) age at first evaluation was 71.8 (7.1) years and 74.5 (6.7) years, respectively. The FDI achieved mean absolute errors of 2.78 (95% CI, 2.63-2.93) years for predicting MCI onset and 1.48 (95% CI, 1.32-1.65) years for predicting AD onset. In the simulated trial with 93 A4 participants (48 [51.6%] female; mean [SD] age at baseline, 73.4 [5.1] years), the FDI achieved mean absolute errors of 1.57 (95% CI, 1.41-1.71) years for predicting MCI onset and 0.70 (95% CI, 0.53-0.88) years for predicting AD onset. Conclusions and Relevance: In this prognostic study, the FDI was developed and validated to predict the onset age of MCI and AD. This tool may be useful in organizing health care for older adults with cognitive decline or dementia and in the future may help prioritize patients for the use of disease-modifying monoclonal antibody drugs.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Chu, C., Wang, Y., Wang, Y., Fowler, C. J., Zisis, G., Masters, C. L., et al. (2025). Development and Validation of a Tool to Predict Onset of Mild Cognitive Impairment and Alzheimer Dementia. JAMA Network Open. https://doi.org/10.1001/jamanetworkopen.2024.53756
Vancouver
Chu C, Wang Y, Wang Y, Fowler CJ, Zisis G, Masters CL, et al. Development and Validation of a Tool to Predict Onset of Mild Cognitive Impairment and Alzheimer Dementia. JAMA Network Open. 2025. doi:10.1001/jamanetworkopen.2024.53756. PMID: 39775804.
BibTeX
@article{chu2025-39775804,
author = {Chu, Chenyin and Wang, Yifei and Wang, Yihan and Fowler, Christopher James and Zisis, Georgios and Masters, Colin Louis and Doecke, James D. and Goudey, Benjamin and others},
title = {{Development and Validation of a Tool to Predict Onset of Mild Cognitive Impairment and Alzheimer Dementia}},
journal = {JAMA Network Open},
year = {2025},
doi = {10.1001/jamanetworkopen.2024.53756},
pmid = {39775804},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1001/jamanetworkopen.2024.53756}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- Among the 1665 AIBL participants (741 [44.5%] female) and 2029 ADNI participants (925 [45.6%] female), the mean (SD) age at first evaluation was 71.8 (7.1) years and 74.5 (6.7) years, respectively.
- The FDI achieved mean absolute errors of 2.78 (95% CI, 2.63-2.93) years for predicting MCI onset and 1.48 (95% CI, 1.32-1.65) years for predicting AD onset.
- In the simulated trial with 93 A4 participants (48 [51.6%] female; mean [SD] age at baseline, 73.4 [5.1] years), the FDI achieved mean absolute errors of 1.57 (95% CI, 1.41-1.71) years for predicting MCI onset and 0.70 (95% CI, 0.53-0.88) years for predicting AD onset.
- Conclusions and Relevance: In this prognostic study, the FDI was developed and validated to predict the onset age of MCI and AD.
- This tool may be useful in organizing health care for older adults with cognitive decline or dementia and in the future may help prioritize patients for the use of disease-modifying monoclonal antibody drugs.
Why it matters
Researchers developed and validated a tool that predicts the age at which mild cognitive impairment or Alzheimer dementia will begin, with mean absolute errors of 2.78 and 1.48 years in the main cohorts. The authors suggest it may help organize care and, in the future, prioritize patients for disease-modifying monoclonal antibody drugs.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Treatments →
Study details
- Study designcohort study
- Effect size44.5%; 45.6%; 51.6%
- Evidence strengthModerate
How this study scored 57/100
Published in a leading specialty journal, and it is a cohort study following people over time. Scored zero for sample size, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 9 / 10 | Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (JAMA Network Open) |
| Journal's citation record | 2 / 4 | JAMA Network Open: journal h-index 235 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29) |
| Study design | 7 / 12 | A cohort study following people over time |
| Strength of evidence | 3 / 5 | Rated “moderate” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 4 / 5 | 2025 — within 3 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 0 / 4 | Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Effect reported | 2 / 3 | Effect reported as a number, without an interval or test |
| Studied in people | 0 / 3 | Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | 2 / 7 | Cited 10 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10) |
| Citations per year | 2 / 5 | 3.3 citations a year over 3 year(s) since 2025 |
| Impact for its field and year | 3 / 6 | Cited 6.4× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI) |
| Cited by studies here | 1 / 6 | Cited by 1 other studies in this library |
| Still being cited | 1 / 4 | Cited 10 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex) |
| Senior author's track record | 4 / 4 | Last-listed author Andrew J. Saykin: h-index 154 (OpenAlex, whole career) |
| Institution's track record | 1 / 3 | The University of Melbourne: institution h-index 1,342 (OpenAlex) |
| Multi-centre collaboration | 2 / 3 | OpenAlex lists 5 institution(s) in 2 countries |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 39775804) |
| Free to read | 2 / 2 | Free to read |
| Total | 57 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
- DOI: 10.1001/jamanetworkopen.2024.53756
- PubMed: 39775804
- Original source →
- Free full text: JAMA Network Open →
Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).
Studies this one cites
Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here.
Later studies that cite this one
1 study in the alzhub library lists this one in its references.
Related studies in Treatments
Also tagged “examination”
840 studies in the library carry the topic tag “examination”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 840 tagged studies.