Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 72 out of 100. Treatments

Topic: Plasma and spinal-fluid biomarkers

Background Lecanemab was recently approved for the treatment of patients with early Alzheimer's disease (AD) and demonstrated reduced senile amyloid plaque and less decline on the measures of cognition and function in clinical trials. However, the real-world data on its efficacy and safety remain limited. We aimed to evaluate the effectiveness and tolerance of lecanemab treatment and determine biomarkers at baseline that could predict cognitive deterioration and the occurrence of amyloid-related imaging abnormaities (ARIA) in real-world clinical practice. Methods To determine the indication for lecanemab, the patients were evaluated through neurological examinations, cognitive assessments, blood test, head magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), amyloid positron emission tomography, lumbar puncture, genetic testing, and clinical conferences. The Mini-Mental State Examination (MMSE) was used to assess cognition, and the MRI scans were used for safety monitoring of ARIA. Results Between January 2024 and October 2025, 234 patients were screened, 100 initiated lecanemab treatment. The mean age was 72.7 years, and 68 (68.0%) patients were female. Among the 71 patients surveyed via MRI prior to the 14th infusion, 12 (16.9%) had ARIA detected. Compared with those of patients without ARIA, the baseline cerebrospinal fluid (CSF)-ptau181 levels of patients with ARIA significantly increased. When the patients were divided into high and low CSF-ptau181 groups according to the cutoff value (78.6 pg/ml) which derived from ROC analysis for ARIA prediction, the MMSE scores of the high ptau group were significantly declined compared to that of the low ptau group at 6 and 12 months after baseline. The infusion-reactions occurred only in 6.0% of patients. The longitudinal observation revealed that the plasma thrombomodulin levels significantly decreased after 6 months of lecanemab treatment. Conclusion Lecanemab was generally well tolerated by most patients with early AD and treatment appeared to be more effective and safer in patients with low CSF-ptau181 levels. Our results suggest an association between lecanemab treatment and reduced markers of vascular endothelial injury.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Noguchi-Shinohara, M., Yoshinobu, T., Ozaki, T., Muramatsu, D., Shima, A., Sakashita, Y., et al. (2025). Higher phosphorylated tau levels predict cognitive decline and amyloid-related imaging abnormalities during lecanemab treatment: clinical practice data. Alzheimer's research & therapy. https://doi.org/10.1186/s13195-025-01912-6

Vancouver

Noguchi-Shinohara M, Yoshinobu T, Ozaki T, Muramatsu D, Shima A, Sakashita Y, et al. Higher phosphorylated tau levels predict cognitive decline and amyloid-related imaging abnormalities during lecanemab treatment: clinical practice data. Alzheimer's research & therapy. 2025. doi:10.1186/s13195-025-01912-6. PMID: 41276859.

BibTeX

@article{noguchishinohara2025-41276859,
  author  = {Noguchi-Shinohara, M. and Yoshinobu, T. and Ozaki, T. and Muramatsu, D. and Shima, A. and Sakashita, Y. and Tada, Y. and Yamaguchi, H. and others},
  title   = {{Higher phosphorylated tau levels predict cognitive decline and amyloid-related imaging abnormalities during lecanemab treatment: clinical practice data}},
  journal = {Alzheimer's research \& therapy},
  year    = {2025},
  doi     = {10.1186/s13195-025-01912-6},
  pmid    = {41276859},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1186/s13195-025-01912-6}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 72/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 7 of 12; Strength of evidence 3 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 4 of 5; Sample size 2 of 4; Effect reported 2 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 2 of 2. 42 of the 58 points it could be judged on, which is 72 of 100. Total 72 of 100.42 of the 58 points we could judge = 72 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal, and it is a longitudinal study following the same people over time. Scored zero for randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 42 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 72 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Alzheimer's research & therapy)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 7 / 12 A longitudinal study following the same people over time
Strength of evidence 3 / 5 Rated “moderate” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 4 / 5 2025 — within 3 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 2 / 4 234 participants
Effect reported 2 / 3 Effect reported as a number, without an interval or test
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 41276859)
Free to read 2 / 2 Free to read
Points 42 / 58 Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 42 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 72 out of 100.
Total 72 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Related studies in Treatments

Also tagged “aducanumab”

332 studies in the library carry the topic tag “aducanumab”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 332 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Treatments

See all studies in Treatments →