Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 49 out of 100. Prevention and risk

Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies

Preventing dementia and Alzheimer's disease (AD) is a global priority. Multimodal interventions targeting several risk factors and disease mechanisms simultaneously are currently being tested worldwide under the World-Wide FINGERS (WW-FINGERS) network of clinical trials. Adherence to these interventions is crucial for their success, yet there is significant heterogeneity in adherence reporting across studies, hindering the understanding of adherence barriers and facilitators. This article is a narrative review of available evidence from multimodal dementia prevention trials. A literature search was conducted using medical databases (MEDLINE via PubMed and SCOPUS) to select relevant studies: nonpharmacological multimodal interventions (i.e., combining three or more intervention domains), targeting individuals without dementia, and using changes in cognitive performance and/or incident mild cognitive impairment or dementia as primary outcomes. Based on the findings, we propose future adherence reporting to encompass both participation (average attendance to each intervention component) and lifestyle change using dementia risk scores (e.g., the LIBRA index). Moreover, we provide an estimation of the expected intensity of multimodal interventions, defined as the ratio of the expected dose (i.e., the overall amount of the intervention offered specified in the trial protocol) to duration (in months). Adjusting the expected dose by average adherence enables estimation of the observed dose and intensity, which could be informative for identifying optimal dosage thresholds that maximize cognitive benefits across different populations. Finally, this article provides an overview of the determinants of adherence to multimodal interventions, emphasizing the need for improved adherence reporting to inform the design and implementation of precision prevention interventions.

Key findings

Why it matters

This narrative review examines how adherence and intensity are reported in multimodal lifestyle trials aimed at preventing cognitive decline, and proposes ways to standardize adherence reporting. It does not test whether these interventions prevent Alzheimer's disease, so it cannot show that they work.

Study details

How this study scored 49/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record 1 of 4; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 4 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 0 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited 3 of 7; Citations per year 3 of 5; Impact for its field and year 4 of 6; Cited by studies here 2 of 6; Still being cited 2 of 4; Senior author's track record 3 of 4; Institution's track record 2 of 3; Multi-centre collaboration 3 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 2 of 2. Total 49 of 100.49 of 100 points earned51 not earned

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Alzheimer s Research & Therapy)
Journal's citation record 1 / 4 Alzheimer s Research & Therapy: journal h-index 146 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29)
Study design 0 / 12 Design recorded as “narrative review”, which our rubric does not rank (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 4 / 5 2025 — within 3 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 0 / 3 Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited 3 / 7 Cited 25 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 3 / 5 8.3 citations a year over 3 year(s) since 2025
Impact for its field and year 4 / 6 Cited 15.8× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI)
Cited by studies here 2 / 6 Cited by 6 other studies in this library
Still being cited 2 / 4 Cited 25 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record 3 / 4 Last-listed author Rafael de la Torre: h-index 90 (OpenAlex, whole career)
Institution's track record 2 / 3 Imperial College London: institution h-index 1,744 (OpenAlex)
Multi-centre collaboration 3 / 3 OpenAlex lists 14 institution(s) in 6 countries
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 40098201)
Free to read 2 / 2 Free to read
Total 49 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Soldevila‐Domenech, N., Ayala‐García, A., Barbera, M., Lehtisalo, J., Forcano, L., Diaz-Ponce, A. M., et al. (2025). Adherence and intensity in multimodal lifestyle-based interventions for cognitive decline prevention: state-of-the-art and future directions. Alzheimer s Research & Therapy. https://doi.org/10.1186/s13195-025-01691-0

Vancouver

Soldevila‐Domenech N, Ayala‐García A, Barbera M, Lehtisalo J, Forcano L, Diaz-Ponce AM, et al. Adherence and intensity in multimodal lifestyle-based interventions for cognitive decline prevention: state-of-the-art and future directions. Alzheimer s Research & Therapy. 2025. doi:10.1186/s13195-025-01691-0. PMID: 40098201.

BibTeX

@article{soldeviladomenech2025-40098201,
  author  = {Soldevila‐Domenech, Natalia and Ayala‐García, Amaia and Barbera, Mariagnese and Lehtisalo, Jenni and Forcano, Laura and Diaz-Ponce, Ana M. and Zwan, Marissa Deborah and van der Flier, Wiesje M. and others},
  title   = {{Adherence and intensity in multimodal lifestyle-based interventions for cognitive decline prevention: state-of-the-art and future directions}},
  journal = {Alzheimer s Research \& Therapy},
  year    = {2025},
  doi     = {10.1186/s13195-025-01691-0},
  pmid    = {40098201},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1186/s13195-025-01691-0}
}

Studies this one cites

Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here.

Later studies that cite this one

6 studies in the alzhub library list this one in their references.

Related studies in Prevention and risk

Also tagged “cognitive-function”

1,118 studies in the library carry the topic tag “cognitive-function”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 1,118 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Prevention and risk

See all studies in Prevention and risk →