Home › Research › Prevention and risk
Dementia prevention, intervention, and care: 2020 report of the Lancet Commission
Gill Livingston, Jonathan D. Huntley, Andrew Sommerlad, David Ames, Clive G. Ballard, Sube Banerjee, Carol Brayne, Alistair S. Burns et al.. The Lancet, 2020-07-30
Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies
We do not hold a plain-English summary of this study yet. Use the links to the original below for its abstract and findings.
Why it matters
The 2020 report of the Lancet Commission on preventing dementia, intervening once it is present, and caring for people who have it. It gathers and weighs existing evidence across those areas rather than testing a treatment of its own.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Prevention →
Study details
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 67/100
Published in a top-tier journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 10 / 10 | Tier 1 — top-tier general journal (The Lancet) |
| Journal's citation record | 4 / 4 | The Lancet: journal h-index 1,205 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29) |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 2 / 5 | 2020 — within 10 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 0 / 4 | Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 0 / 3 | Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | 7 / 7 | Cited 10,388 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10) |
| Citations per year | 5 / 5 | 1,298.5 citations a year over 8 year(s) since 2020 |
| Impact for its field and year | 6 / 6 | Cited 741.5× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI) |
| Cited by studies here | 6 / 6 | Cited by 459 other studies in this library |
| Still being cited | 4 / 4 | Cited 5,746 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex) |
| Senior author's track record | 2 / 4 | Last-listed author Naaheed Mukadam: h-index 36 (OpenAlex, whole career) |
| Institution's track record | 3 / 3 | University of Washington: institution h-index 3,540 (OpenAlex) |
| Multi-centre collaboration | 3 / 3 | OpenAlex lists 32 institution(s) in 9 countries |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 32738937) |
| Free to read | 2 / 2 | Free to read |
| Total | 67 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
APA 7th
Livingston, G., Huntley, J. D., Sommerlad, A., Ames, D., Ballard, C. G., Banerjee, S., et al. (2020). Dementia prevention, intervention, and care: 2020 report of the Lancet Commission. The Lancet. https://doi.org/10.1016/s0140-6736(20)30367-6
Vancouver
Livingston G, Huntley JD, Sommerlad A, Ames D, Ballard CG, Banerjee S, et al. Dementia prevention, intervention, and care: 2020 report of the Lancet Commission. The Lancet. 2020. doi:10.1016/s0140-6736(20)30367-6. PMID: 32738937.
BibTeX
@article{livingston2020-32738937,
author = {Livingston, Gill and Huntley, Jonathan D. and Sommerlad, Andrew and Ames, David and Ballard, Clive G. and Banerjee, Sube and Brayne, Carol and Burns, Alistair S. and others},
title = {{Dementia prevention, intervention, and care: 2020 report of the Lancet Commission}},
journal = {The Lancet},
year = {2020},
doi = {10.1016/s0140-6736(20)30367-6},
pmid = {32738937},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1016/s0140-6736(20)30367-6}
}
Studies this one cites
Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here. Showing 12 of 91.
Later studies that cite this one
459 studies in the alzhub library list this one in their references. Showing the 8 highest-scoring.
Related studies in Prevention and risk
Also tagged “prevalence”
1,224 studies in the library carry the topic tag “prevalence”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 1,224 tagged studies.