Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 52 out of 100. Cognitive tests and assessment

Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies

In 893 participants with average age 93 years (range 90-102), 43 % had SMC. Cross-sectionally, SMC were associated with lower scores on memory, language, executive function. After 3.5 years of follow-up (range 0.4-16), 325 of 789 participants developed dementia. SMC, compared with no SMC, was associated with twice the risk of incident dementia (HR=2.16, 95 %CI, 1.72-2.72; p < 0.01). SMC predicted incident dementia as well as MMSE (p = 0.12), but not as well as cognitive diagnosis (p < 0.01). Single SMC question might be useful to identify oldest old with cognitive impairment or at risk of dementia.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Melikyan, Z. A., Aguirre, C., Al‐Darsani, Z., Colcord, K. A., Paganini‐Hill, A., Farias, S. T., et al. (2025). Subjective memory complaints at age 90 + in relation to cognition and risk of incident dementia: The 90 + Study. International Psychogeriatrics. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.inpsyc.2025.100083

Vancouver

Melikyan ZA, Aguirre C, Al‐Darsani Z, Colcord KA, Paganini‐Hill A, Farias ST, et al. Subjective memory complaints at age 90 + in relation to cognition and risk of incident dementia: The 90 + Study. International Psychogeriatrics. 2025. doi:10.1016/j.inpsyc.2025.100083. PMID: 40340138.

BibTeX

@article{melikyan2025-40340138,
  author  = {Melikyan, Zarui A. and Aguirre, Colette and Al‐Darsani, Zeinah and Colcord, Katherine A. and Paganini‐Hill, Annlia and Farias, Sarah Tomaszewski and Jiang, Luohua and Kawas, Claudia H. and others},
  title   = {{Subjective memory complaints at age 90 + in relation to cognition and risk of incident dementia: The 90 + Study}},
  journal = {International Psychogeriatrics},
  year    = {2025},
  doi     = {10.1016/j.inpsyc.2025.100083},
  pmid    = {40340138},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1016/j.inpsyc.2025.100083}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Why it matters

In people aged 90 and older, having subjective memory complaints was linked to about twice the risk of developing dementia over roughly 3.5 years. A single question about memory complaints might help identify the oldest old who have cognitive impairment or are at risk of dementia.

Study details

How this study scored 52/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record 2 of 4; Study design 4 of 12; Strength of evidence 3 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 4 of 5; Sample size 2 of 4; Effect reported 3 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited 1 of 7; Citations per year 1 of 5; Impact for its field and year 2 of 6; Cited by studies here 0 of 6; Still being cited 1 of 4; Senior author's track record 3 of 4; Institution's track record 1 of 3; Multi-centre collaboration 1 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 2 of 2. Total 52 of 100.52 of 100 points earned48 not earned

Published in a peer-reviewed journal, and it is a snapshot of people at one point in time. Scored zero for randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (International Psychogeriatrics)
Journal's citation record 2 / 4 International Psychogeriatrics: journal h-index 161 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29)
Study design 4 / 12 A snapshot of people at one point in time
Strength of evidence 3 / 5 Rated “moderate” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 4 / 5 2025 — within 3 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 2 / 4 893 participants
Effect reported 3 / 3 Effect reported with a statistic (interval, p-value, ratio or similar)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited 1 / 7 Cited 3 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 1 / 5 1.0 citations a year over 3 year(s) since 2025
Impact for its field and year 2 / 6 Cited 1.9× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI)
Cited by studies here 0 / 6 No other study in this library cites it
Still being cited 1 / 4 Cited 3 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record 3 / 4 Last-listed author María M. Corrada: h-index 55 (OpenAlex, whole career)
Institution's track record 1 / 3 University of California, Davis: institution h-index 1,257 (OpenAlex)
Multi-centre collaboration 1 / 3 OpenAlex lists 2 institution(s) in 1 country
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 40340138)
Free to read 2 / 2 Free to read
Total 52 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).

Studies this one cites

Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here. Showing 12 of 13.

Related studies in Cognitive tests and assessment

Also tagged “prevalence”

1,224 studies in the library carry the topic tag “prevalence”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 1,224 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Cognitive tests and assessment

See all studies in Cognitive tests and assessment →