Home › Research › Biomarkers
Plasma Neurofilament Light and Future Declines in Cognition and Function in Alzheimer's Disease in the FIT-AD Trial
Danni Li, Lin Zhang, Nathaniel W Nelson, Michelle M Mielke, Fang Yu. Journal of Alzheimer's disease reports, 2021-07-21
Topic: Plasma and spinal-fluid biomarkers
Higher baseline plasma NfL was associated with greater rate of decline in ADAS-Cog from baseline to 6 months (standardized estimate of 0.00462, p = 0.02853) and in ADL from baseline to 12 months (standardized estimate of -0.00284, p = 0.03338). Greater increase in plasma NfL in short term from baseline to 3 months was associated with greater rate of decline in memory and ADL from 3 to 6 months (standardized estimate of -0.04638 [0.003], p = 0.01635; standardized estimate of -0.03818, p = 0.0435) and greater rate of decline in ADL from 3 to 12 month (standardized estimate of -0.01492, p = 0.01082). This study demonstrated that plasma NfL might have the potential to predict cognitive and function decline up to 12 months. However, future studies with bigger sample sizes need to confirm the findings.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Li, D., Zhang, L., Nelson, N. W., Mielke, M. M., & Yu, F. (2021). Plasma Neurofilament Light and Future Declines in Cognition and Function in Alzheimer's Disease in the FIT-AD Trial. Journal of Alzheimer's disease reports. https://doi.org/10.3233/adr-210302
Vancouver
Li D, Zhang L, Nelson NW, Mielke MM, Yu F. Plasma Neurofilament Light and Future Declines in Cognition and Function in Alzheimer's Disease in the FIT-AD Trial. Journal of Alzheimer's disease reports. 2021. doi:10.3233/adr-210302. PMID: 34514342.
BibTeX
@article{li2021-34514342,
author = {Li, Danni and Zhang, Lin and Nelson, Nathaniel W and Mielke, Michelle M and Yu, Fang},
title = {{Plasma Neurofilament Light and Future Declines in Cognition and Function in Alzheimer's Disease in the FIT-AD Trial}},
journal = {Journal of Alzheimer's disease reports},
year = {2021},
doi = {10.3233/adr-210302},
pmid = {34514342},
url = {https://doi.org/10.3233/adr-210302}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- Higher baseline plasma NfL was associated with greater rate of decline in ADAS-Cog from baseline to 6 months (standardized estimate of 0.00462, p = 0.02853) and in ADL from baseline to 12 months (standardized estimate of -0.00284, p = 0.03338).
- Greater increase in plasma NfL in short term from baseline to 3 months was associated with greater rate of decline in memory and ADL from 3 to 6 months (standardized estimate of -0.04638 [0.003], p = 0.01635; standardized estimate of -0.03818, p = 0.0435) and greater rate of decline in ADL from 3 to 12 month (standardized estimate of -0.01492, p = 0.01082).
- This study demonstrated that plasma NfL might have the potential to predict cognitive and function decline up to 12 months.
- However, future studies with bigger sample sizes need to confirm the findings.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Blood tests & biomarkers →
Study details
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 41/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record, multi-centre collaboration and free to read, so those were left out: it earned 23 of the 56 points we could judge it on, which is 41 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Journal of Alzheimer's disease reports) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 3 / 5 | 2021 — within 6 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 0 / 4 | Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 0 / 3 | Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 34514342) |
| Free to read | — / 2 | Access not recorded — left out of this score |
| Points | 23 / 56 | Scored on 10 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 23 of the 56 points we could judge it on is 41 out of 100. |
| Total | 41 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Related studies in Biomarkers
Also tagged “neurofilament”
696 studies in the library carry the topic tag “neurofilament”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 696 tagged studies.