Home › Research › Prevention and risk
Nutrition and risk of dementia: overview and methodological issues
Morris MC.. Annals of the New York Academy of Sciences, 2016-03-01
Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies
After two decades of research on nutrition and dementia there is strong evidence for preventive effects of vitamin E, B vitamins, and n-3 fatty acids and deleterious effects of saturated fat on dementia. Among specific foods with evidence of neuroprotection are green leafy vegetables, other vegetables, berries, and seafood. A number of studies have examined dietary patterns, particularly the Mediterranean diet and DASH (Dietary Approaches to Stop Hypertension), neither of which is tailored to the specific foods and nutrients that have been identified as neuroprotective. A new diet called MIND (Mediterranean-DASH Intervention for Neurodegenerative Delay) incorporates many elements of the Mediterranean diet and DASH but with modifications that reflect current evidence for brain neuroprotection. The evidence in support of the relation of various nutrients and the Mediterranean diet to dementia has been inconsistent. The inconsistencies may be explained by inattention to nutrient/food intake levels in the interpretation of study findings and trial design, including a shifting metric among studies for scoring adherence to the Mediterranean diet. Future studies should pay particular attention to levels of intake in the design and analyses of nutritional studies.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Morris, M. C. (2016). Nutrition and risk of dementia: overview and methodological issues. Annals of the New York Academy of Sciences. https://doi.org/10.1111/nyas.13047
Vancouver
Morris MC. Nutrition and risk of dementia: overview and methodological issues. Annals of the New York Academy of Sciences. 2016. doi:10.1111/nyas.13047. PMID: 27116239.
BibTeX
@article{morris2016-27116239,
author = {Morris, M. C.},
title = {{Nutrition and risk of dementia: overview and methodological issues}},
journal = {Annals of the New York Academy of Sciences},
year = {2016},
doi = {10.1111/nyas.13047},
pmid = {27116239},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1111/nyas.13047}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- A number of studies have examined dietary patterns, particularly the Mediterranean diet and DASH (Dietary Approaches to Stop Hypertension), neither of which is tailored to the specific foods and nutrients that have been identified as neuroprotective.
- A new diet called MIND (Mediterranean-DASH Intervention for Neurodegenerative Delay) incorporates many elements of the Mediterranean diet and DASH but with modifications that reflect current evidence for brain neuroprotection.
- The evidence in support of the relation of various nutrients and the Mediterranean diet to dementia has been inconsistent.
- The inconsistencies may be explained by inattention to nutrient/food intake levels in the interpretation of study findings and trial design, including a shifting metric among studies for scoring adherence to the Mediterranean diet.
- Future studies should pay particular attention to levels of intake in the design and analyses of nutritional studies.
Why it matters
This overview states there is strong evidence for preventive effects of vitamin E, B vitamins and n-3 fatty acids and deleterious effects of saturated fat, and describes the MIND diet as incorporating Mediterranean and DASH elements modified for brain neuroprotection. It also notes that evidence on nutrients and the Mediterranean diet has been inconsistent, so no dietary approach is established as preventive.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Prevention →
Study details
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 44/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Annals of the New York Academy of Sciences) |
| Journal's citation record | 3 / 4 | Annals of the New York Academy of Sciences: journal h-index 399 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29) |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 1 / 5 | 2016 — within 20 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 0 / 4 | Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 0 / 3 | Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | 5 / 7 | Cited 207 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10) |
| Citations per year | 3 / 5 | 17.2 citations a year over 12 year(s) since 2016 |
| Impact for its field and year | 4 / 6 | Cited 18.8× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI) |
| Cited by studies here | 3 / 6 | Cited by 15 other studies in this library |
| Still being cited | 2 / 4 | Cited 48 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex) |
| Senior author's track record | 3 / 4 | Last-listed author Martha Clare Morris: h-index 69 (OpenAlex, whole career) |
| Institution's track record | 0 / 3 | Rush University: institution h-index 420 (OpenAlex) |
| Multi-centre collaboration | 0 / 3 | OpenAlex lists 1 institution(s) in 1 country — scores zero (affiliation lists can be incomplete) |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 27116239) |
| Free to read | 0 / 2 | Behind a paywall — scores zero |
| Total | 44 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
- DOI: 10.1111/nyas.13047
- PubMed: 27116239
- Original source →
- Free full text: Annals of the New York Academy of Sciences →
Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).
Studies this one cites
Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here.
Later studies that cite this one
15 studies in the alzhub library list this one in their references. Showing the 8 highest-scoring.
Related studies in Prevention and risk
Also tagged “incidence”
1,084 studies in the library carry the topic tag “incidence”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 1,084 tagged studies.