Home › Research › Getting a diagnosis
Mild cognitive impairment and mild dementia: a clinical perspective
Knopman DS, Petersen RC.. Mayo Clinic proceedings, 2014-10-01
Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies
Mild cognitive impairment and mild dementia are common problems in the elderly. Primary care physicians are the first point of contact for most patients with these disorders and should be familiar with their diagnosis, prognosis, and management. Both mild cognitive impairment and mild dementia are characterized by objective evidence of cognitive impairment. The main distinctions between mild cognitive impairment and mild dementia are that in the latter, more than one cognitive domain is invariably involved and substantial interference with daily life is evident. The diagnosis of mild cognitive impairment and mild dementia is based mainly on the history and cognitive examination. The prognosis for mild cognitive impairment and mild dementia is an important motivation for diagnosis because in both, there is a heightened risk for further cognitive decline. The etiology of mild cognitive impairment and mild dementia can often be established through the clinical examination, although imaging and other laboratory tests may also contribute. Although Alzheimer disease is the most common cause of both, cerebrovascular disease and Lewy body disease make important contributions. Pharmacological treatments are of modest value in mild dementia due to Alzheimer disease, and there are no approved pharmacological treatments for mild cognitive impairment of any etiology. Nonetheless, new-onset cognitive impairment is a worrisome symptom to patients and families that demands answers and advice. If a patient is having difficulties managing medications, finances, or transportation independently, diagnosis and intervention are necessary to ensure the health and safety of the patient.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Knopman, D. S., & Petersen, R. C. (2014). Mild cognitive impairment and mild dementia: a clinical perspective. Mayo Clinic proceedings. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.mayocp.2014.06.019
Vancouver
Knopman DS, Petersen RC. Mild cognitive impairment and mild dementia: a clinical perspective. Mayo Clinic proceedings. 2014. doi:10.1016/j.mayocp.2014.06.019. PMID: 25282431.
BibTeX
@article{knopman2014-25282431,
author = {Knopman, D. S. and Petersen, R. C.},
title = {{Mild cognitive impairment and mild dementia: a clinical perspective}},
journal = {Mayo Clinic proceedings},
year = {2014},
doi = {10.1016/j.mayocp.2014.06.019},
pmid = {25282431},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1016/j.mayocp.2014.06.019}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- The etiology of mild cognitive impairment and mild dementia can often be established through the clinical examination, although imaging and other laboratory tests may also contribute.
- Although Alzheimer disease is the most common cause of both, cerebrovascular disease and Lewy body disease make important contributions.
- Pharmacological treatments are of modest value in mild dementia due to Alzheimer disease, and there are no approved pharmacological treatments for mild cognitive impairment of any etiology.
- Nonetheless, new-onset cognitive impairment is a worrisome symptom to patients and families that demands answers and advice.
- If a patient is having difficulties managing medications, finances, or transportation independently, diagnosis and intervention are necessary to ensure the health and safety of the patient.
Why it matters
This clinical review states that pharmacological treatments are of modest value in mild dementia due to Alzheimer's disease and that there are no approved pharmacological treatments for mild cognitive impairment of any cause. It offers no evidence that any treatment cures or prevents Alzheimer's disease.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Getting a diagnosis →
Study details
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 52/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Mayo Clinic proceedings) |
| Journal's citation record | 3 / 4 | Mayo Clinic Proceedings: journal h-index 293 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29) |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 1 / 5 | 2014 — within 20 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 0 / 4 | Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (pubmed indexes it as a clinical or observational study) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | 6 / 7 | Cited 390 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10) |
| Citations per year | 4 / 5 | 27.9 citations a year over 14 year(s) since 2014 |
| Impact for its field and year | 3 / 6 | Cited 3.6× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI) |
| Cited by studies here | 3 / 6 | Cited by 14 other studies in this library |
| Still being cited | 3 / 4 | Cited 140 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex) |
| Senior author's track record | 4 / 4 | Last-listed author Ronald Carl Petersen: h-index 209 (OpenAlex, whole career) |
| Institution's track record | 2 / 3 | Mayo Clinic: institution h-index 1,606 (OpenAlex) |
| Multi-centre collaboration | 0 / 3 | OpenAlex lists 1 institution(s) in 1 country — scores zero (affiliation lists can be incomplete) |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 25282431) |
| Free to read | 0 / 2 | Behind a paywall — scores zero |
| Total | 52 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
- DOI: 10.1016/j.mayocp.2014.06.019
- PubMed: 25282431
- Original source →
- Free full text: Mayo Clinic Proceedings →
Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).
Studies this one cites
Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here. Showing 12 of 30.
Later studies that cite this one
14 studies in the alzhub library list this one in their references. Showing the 8 highest-scoring.
Related studies in Getting a diagnosis
Also tagged “examination”
840 studies in the library carry the topic tag “examination”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 840 tagged studies.