Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 59 out of 100. Brain tissue and pathology

Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies

In later adulthood brain pathology becomes common and trajectories of cognitive change are heterogeneous. Among the multiple determinants of late-life cognitive course, cognitive reserve has been proposed as an important factor that modifies or buffers the impact of brain pathology on cognitive function. This article presents and investigates a novel method for measuring and investigating such factors.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Reed, B. R., Mungas, D., Farias, S. T., Harvey, D., Beckett, L., Widaman, K., et al. (2010). Measuring cognitive reserve based on the decomposition of episodic memory variance. Brain : a journal of neurology. https://doi.org/10.1093/brain/awq154

Vancouver

Reed BR, Mungas D, Farias ST, Harvey D, Beckett L, Widaman K, et al. Measuring cognitive reserve based on the decomposition of episodic memory variance. Brain : a journal of neurology. 2010. doi:10.1093/brain/awq154. PMID: 20591858.

BibTeX

@article{reed2010-20591858,
  author  = {Reed, B. R. and Mungas, D. and Farias, S. T. and Harvey, D. and Beckett, L. and Widaman, K. and Hinton, L. and DeCarli, C.},
  title   = {{Measuring cognitive reserve based on the decomposition of episodic memory variance}},
  journal = {Brain : a journal of neurology},
  year    = {2010},
  doi     = {10.1093/brain/awq154},
  pmid    = {20591858},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1093/brain/awq154}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record names 8 authors; APA and Vancouver show the first six, BibTeX and the downloads carry all of them. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Why it matters

This article presents and investigates a novel method for measuring cognitive reserve based on the decomposition of episodic memory variance. It is a methodological study of how reserve may buffer the impact of brain pathology and does not test a treatment, cure, or prevention.

Study details

How this study scored 59/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 9 of 10; Journal's citation record 4 of 4; Study design 7 of 12; Strength of evidence 3 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 1 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 0 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited 5 of 7; Citations per year 3 of 5; Impact for its field and year 3 of 6; Cited by studies here 3 of 6; Still being cited 3 of 4; Senior author's track record 4 of 4; Institution's track record 1 of 3; Multi-centre collaboration 1 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. Total 59 of 100.59 of 100 points earned41 not earned

Published in a leading specialty journal, and it is a longitudinal study following the same people over time. Scored zero for sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 9 / 10 Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (Brain : a journal of neurology)
Journal's citation record 4 / 4 Brain: journal h-index 503 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29)
Study design 7 / 12 A longitudinal study following the same people over time
Strength of evidence 3 / 5 Rated “moderate” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 1 / 5 2010 — within 20 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 0 / 3 Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited 5 / 7 Cited 275 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 3 / 5 15.3 citations a year over 18 year(s) since 2010
Impact for its field and year 3 / 6 Cited 7.2× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI)
Cited by studies here 3 / 6 Cited by 10 other studies in this library
Still being cited 3 / 4 Cited 57 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record 4 / 4 Last-listed author Charles S DeCarli: h-index 150 (OpenAlex, whole career)
Institution's track record 1 / 3 University of California, Davis: institution h-index 1,257 (OpenAlex)
Multi-centre collaboration 1 / 3 OpenAlex lists 2 institution(s) in 1 country
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 20591858)
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Total 59 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).

Studies this one cites

Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here. Showing 12 of 30.

Later studies that cite this one

10 studies in the alzhub library list this one in their references. Showing the 8 highest-scoring.

Related studies in Brain tissue and pathology

Also tagged “examination”

840 studies in the library carry the topic tag “examination”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 840 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Brain tissue and pathology

See all studies in Brain tissue and pathology →