Home › Research › Biomarkers
Longitudinal Phospho-tau217 Predicts Amyloid Positron Emission Tomography in Asymptomatic Alzheimer's Disease
Rissman RA, Donohue MC, Langford O, Raman R, Abdel-Latif S, Yaari R, Holdridge KC, Sims JR et al.. The journal of prevention of Alzheimer's disease, 2024-01-01
Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis
Background Blood-based AD biomarkers such as plasma P-tau217 are increasingly used in clinical trials as a screening tool. Objectives To assess the utility of an electrochemiluminescence (ECL) immunoassay in predicting brain amyloid PET status in cognitively unimpaired individuals. Setting Plasma samples collected at baseline, week 12, and week 240 or endpoint originated from the Anti-Amyloid Treatment in Asymptomatic Alzheimer's Disease (A4) trial and the companion Longitudinal Evaluation of Amyloid Risk and Neurodegeneration (LEARN) study. Participants Both A4 and LEARN enrolled eligible cognitively unimpaired persons 65 to 85 years. Individuals with elevated brain amyloid PET levels were eligible for the A4 Study, while those without elevated brain amyloid PET levels were eligible for the LEARN Study. Intervention Participants in the A4 Study received intravenous solanezumab (up to 1600 mg) or placebo every 4 weeks. The LEARN Study is an observational study without intervention. Measurements Plasma P-tau217 concentration levels from A4 Study participants were measured using an ECL immunoassay. Receiver Operating Characteristic (ROC) curve analysis was performed for each biomarker against amyloid positivity, defined by ≥22 CL and ≥ 33 CL. Results Receiver operating characteristic curve (ROC) analysis indicates high diagnostic value of P-tau217 in individuals with amyloid PET ≥ 20 (Area under the ROC (AUROC): 0.87) and ≥ 33 CL (AUROC: 0.89). Repeated testing with the placebo group taken 12 weeks apart (range: 68 to 143 days) and the LEARN participants taken between 1.4 and 1.75 years resulted in a strong positive correlation (Corr. 0.91 (0.90 to 0.92)). Conclusion An ECL immunoassay testing plasma P-tau217 accurately predicts amyloid PET positivity in cognitively unimpaired individuals. Our future analyses aim to determine if use of this assay may reduce the screening burden of preclinical individuals into anti-amyloid clinical trials.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Rissman, R. A., Donohue, M. C., Langford, O., Raman, R., Abdel-Latif, S., Yaari, R., et al. (2024). Longitudinal Phospho-tau217 Predicts Amyloid Positron Emission Tomography in Asymptomatic Alzheimer's Disease. The journal of prevention of Alzheimer's disease. https://doi.org/10.14283/jpad.2024.134
Vancouver
Rissman RA, Donohue MC, Langford O, Raman R, Abdel-Latif S, Yaari R, et al. Longitudinal Phospho-tau217 Predicts Amyloid Positron Emission Tomography in Asymptomatic Alzheimer's Disease. The journal of prevention of Alzheimer's disease. 2024. doi:10.14283/jpad.2024.134. PMID: 39044490.
BibTeX
@article{rissman2024-39044490,
author = {Rissman, R. A. and Donohue, M. C. and Langford, O. and Raman, R. and Abdel-Latif, S. and Yaari, R. and Holdridge, K. C. and Sims, JR. and others},
title = {{Longitudinal Phospho-tau217 Predicts Amyloid Positron Emission Tomography in Asymptomatic Alzheimer's Disease}},
journal = {The journal of prevention of Alzheimer's disease},
year = {2024},
doi = {10.14283/jpad.2024.134},
pmid = {39044490},
url = {https://doi.org/10.14283/jpad.2024.134}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- Results Receiver operating characteristic curve (ROC) analysis indicates high diagnostic value of P-tau217 in individuals with amyloid PET ≥ 20 (Area under the ROC (AUROC): 0.87) and ≥ 33 CL (AUROC: 0.89).
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Blood tests & biomarkers →
Study details
- Study designlongitudinal study
- Evidence strengthModerate
How this study scored 60/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal, and it is a longitudinal study following the same people over time. Scored zero for sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 35 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 60 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (The journal of prevention of Alzheimer's disease) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 7 / 12 | A longitudinal study following the same people over time |
| Strength of evidence | 3 / 5 | Rated “moderate” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 4 / 5 | 2024 — within 3 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 0 / 4 | Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 0 / 3 | Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 39044490) |
| Free to read | 2 / 2 | Free to read |
| Points | 35 / 58 | Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 35 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 60 out of 100. |
| Total | 60 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Related studies in Biomarkers
Also tagged “pet-imaging”
3 studies in the library carry the topic tag “pet-imaging”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 3 tagged studies.