Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 38 out of 100. Getting a diagnosis

Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis

AD patients had significantly higher AD-RAI (0.91 ± 0.25) and more pronounced hippocampal atrophy (0.36 ± 0.09) compared to MCI and HC (P 0.9 for distinguishing BPSD from non-BPSD patients. The AccuBrain MRI system demonstrated high sensitivity and diagnostic value in distinguishing AD from MCI and HC, as well as in identifying patients with BPSD. Correlation and ROC analyses support the use of these imaging biomarkers for early diagnosis and personalized treatment strategies in AD.

Key findings

Why it matters

An MRI-based quantitative analysis system distinguished Alzheimer's disease from mild cognitive impairment and healthy controls and identified behavioral symptoms. This supports diagnosis but does not provide a treatment, cure, or prevention.

Study details

How this study scored 38/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record 1 of 4; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 4 of 5; Sample size 1 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited 1 of 7; Citations per year 1 of 5; Impact for its field and year 2 of 6; Cited by studies here 0 of 6; Still being cited 1 of 4; Senior author's track record 1 of 4; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration 0 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 2 of 2. 37 of the 97 points it could be judged on, which is 38 of 100. Total 38 of 100.37 of the 97 points we could judge = 38 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on institution's track record, so that was left out: it earned 37 of the 97 points we could judge it on, which is 38 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Aging Clinical and Experimental Research)
Journal's citation record 1 / 4 Aging Clinical and Experimental Research: journal h-index 125 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29)
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 4 / 5 2025 — within 3 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 1 / 4 40 participants
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited 1 / 7 Cited 3 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 1 / 5 1.0 citations a year over 3 year(s) since 2025
Impact for its field and year 2 / 6 Cited 1.9× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI)
Cited by studies here 0 / 6 No other study in this library cites it
Still being cited 1 / 4 Cited 3 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record 1 / 4 Last-listed author Jiaquan Liang: h-index 13 (OpenAlex, whole career)
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration 0 / 3 OpenAlex lists 0 institution(s) in 0 countries — scores zero (affiliation lists can be incomplete)
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 40244500)
Free to read 2 / 2 Free to read
Points 37 / 97 Scored on 19 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 37 of the 97 points we could judge it on is 38 out of 100.
Total 38 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Lu, H., Xu, C., & Liang, J. (2025). Evaluation of AccuBrain-based MRI quantitative analysis in diagnosing Alzheimer’s disease and assessing behavioral and psychological symptoms of dementia. Aging Clinical and Experimental Research. https://doi.org/10.1007/s40520-025-03023-6

Vancouver

Lu H, Xu C, Liang J. Evaluation of AccuBrain-based MRI quantitative analysis in diagnosing Alzheimer’s disease and assessing behavioral and psychological symptoms of dementia. Aging Clinical and Experimental Research. 2025. doi:10.1007/s40520-025-03023-6. PMID: 40244500.

BibTeX

@article{lu2025-40244500,
  author  = {Lu, Huixian and Xu, Caixia and Liang, Jiaquan},
  title   = {{Evaluation of AccuBrain-based MRI quantitative analysis in diagnosing Alzheimer’s disease and assessing behavioral and psychological symptoms of dementia}},
  journal = {Aging Clinical and Experimental Research},
  year    = {2025},
  doi     = {10.1007/s40520-025-03023-6},
  pmid    = {40244500},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1007/s40520-025-03023-6}
}

Studies this one cites

Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here.

Related studies in Getting a diagnosis

Also tagged “classification”

835 studies in the library carry the topic tag “classification”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 835 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Getting a diagnosis

See all studies in Getting a diagnosis →