Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 65 out of 100. Prevention and risk

Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis

In this Seminar, we highlight the main developments in the field of Alzheimer's disease. The most recent data indicate that, by 2050, the prevalence of dementia will double in Europe and triple worldwide, and that estimate is 3 times higher when based on a biological (rather than clinical) definition of Alzheimer's disease. The earliest phase of Alzheimer's disease (cellular phase) happens in parallel with accumulating amyloid β, inducing the spread of tau pathology. The risk of Alzheimer's disease is 60-80% dependent on heritable factors, with more than 40 Alzheimer's disease-associated genetic risk loci already identified, of which the APOE alleles have the strongest association with the disease. Novel biomarkers include PET scans and plasma assays for amyloid β and phosphorylated tau, which show great promise for clinical and research use. Multidomain lifestyle-based prevention trials suggest cognitive benefits in participants with increased risk of dementia. Lifestyle factors do not directly affect Alzheimer's disease pathology, but can still contribute to a positive outcome in individuals with Alzheimer's disease. Promising pharmacological treatments are poised at advanced stages of clinical trials and include anti-amyloid β, anti-tau, and anti-inflammatory strategies.

Key findings

Why it matters

This 2021 Lancet overview (a review, not a new study) reports that dementia prevalence is projected to double in Europe and triple worldwide by 2050, that Alzheimer's risk is 60–80% heritable with APOE the strongest of more than 40 genetic risk loci, and that PET scans and blood tests for amyloid β and phosphorylated tau "show great promise". It says multidomain lifestyle trials "suggest cognitive benefits" in people at increased risk of dementia, but also that lifestyle factors "do not directly affect Alzheimer's disease pathology". Anti-amyloid, anti-tau and anti-inflammatory drugs were in advanced trials when it was written.

Study details

How this study scored 65/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 10 of 10; Journal's citation record 4 of 4; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 3 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 0 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited 7 of 7; Citations per year 5 of 5; Impact for its field and year 6 of 6; Cited by studies here 5 of 6; Still being cited 4 of 4; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record 2 of 3; Multi-centre collaboration 3 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. 62 of the 96 points it could be judged on, which is 65 of 100. Total 65 of 100.62 of the 96 points we could judge = 65 of 100

Published in a top-tier journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on senior author's track record, so that was left out: it earned 62 of the 96 points we could judge it on, which is 65 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 10 / 10 Tier 1 — top-tier general journal (Lancet (London, England))
Journal's citation record 4 / 4 The Lancet: journal h-index 1,205 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29)
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 3 / 5 2021 — within 6 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 0 / 3 Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited 7 / 7 Cited 5,176 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 5 / 5 739.4 citations a year over 7 year(s) since 2021
Impact for its field and year 6 / 6 Cited 336.5× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI)
Cited by studies here 5 / 6 Cited by 138 other studies in this library
Still being cited 4 / 4 Cited 3,884 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record 2 / 3 University College London: institution h-index 2,029 (OpenAlex)
Multi-centre collaboration 3 / 3 OpenAlex lists 14 institution(s) in 7 countries
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 33667416)
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Points 62 / 96 Scored on 19 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 62 of the 96 points we could judge it on is 65 out of 100.
Total 65 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Full text: free to read — PubMed Central lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 10 Oct 2026).

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record names 8 authors; APA and Vancouver show the first six, BibTeX and the downloads carry all of them. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Scheltens, P., De Strooper, B., Kivipelto, M., Holstege, H., Chételat, G., Teunissen, C. E., et al. (2021). Alzheimer's disease. Lancet (London, England). https://doi.org/10.1016/s0140-6736(20)32205-4

Vancouver

Scheltens P, De Strooper B, Kivipelto M, Holstege H, Chételat G, Teunissen CE, et al. Alzheimer's disease. Lancet (London, England). 2021. doi:10.1016/s0140-6736(20)32205-4. PMID: 33667416.

BibTeX

@article{scheltens2021-33667416,
  author  = {Scheltens, P. and De Strooper, B. and Kivipelto, M. and Holstege, H. and Chételat, G. and Teunissen, C. E. and Cummings, J. and van der Flier, W. M.},
  title   = {{Alzheimer's disease}},
  journal = {Lancet (London, England)},
  year    = {2021},
  doi     = {10.1016/s0140-6736(20)32205-4},
  pmid    = {33667416},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1016/s0140-6736(20)32205-4}
}

Studies this one cites

Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here. Showing 12 of 82.

Later studies that cite this one

138 studies in the alzhub library list this one in their references. Showing the 8 highest-scoring.

Related studies in Prevention and risk

Similar studies

More on Prevention and risk

See all studies in Prevention and risk →