Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 52 out of 100. Long-term cohort studies

Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies

Introduction Composite scores may be useful to summarize overall language or visuospatial functioning in studies of older adults. Methods We used item response theory to derive composite measures for language (ADNI-Lan) and visuospatial functioning (ADNI-VS) from the cognitive battery administered in the Alzheimer's Disease Neuroimaging Initiative (ADNI). We evaluated the scores among groups of people with normal cognition, mild cognitive impairment (MCI), and Alzheimer's disease (AD) in terms of responsiveness to change, association with imaging findings, and ability to differentiate between MCI participants who progressed to AD dementia and those who did not progress.

Key findings

Why it matters

This work developed and validated language and visuospatial composite scores using cognitive data from ADNI. It concerns measurement tools for research and assessment, not treating, curing or preventing Alzheimer's disease.

Study details

How this study scored 52/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 9 of 10; Journal's citation record 1 of 4; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 2 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 0 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited 4 of 7; Citations per year 3 of 5; Impact for its field and year 3 of 6; Cited by studies here 2 of 6; Still being cited 3 of 4; Senior author's track record 4 of 4; Institution's track record 3 of 3; Multi-centre collaboration 3 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 2 of 2. Total 52 of 100.52 of 100 points earned48 not earned

Published in a leading specialty journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 9 / 10 Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (Alzheimer's & dementia (New York, N. Y.))
Journal's citation record 1 / 4 Alzheimer s & Dementia Translational Research & Clinical Interventions: journal h-index 84 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29)
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 2 / 5 2020 — within 10 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 0 / 3 Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited 4 / 7 Cited 83 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 3 / 5 10.4 citations a year over 8 year(s) since 2020
Impact for its field and year 3 / 6 Cited 5.3× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI)
Cited by studies here 2 / 6 Cited by 8 other studies in this library
Still being cited 3 / 4 Cited 50 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record 4 / 4 Last-listed author Paul K. Crane: h-index 101 (OpenAlex, whole career)
Institution's track record 3 / 3 University of Washington: institution h-index 3,540 (OpenAlex)
Multi-centre collaboration 3 / 3 OpenAlex lists 12 institution(s) in 3 countries
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 33313380)
Free to read 2 / 2 Free to read
Total 52 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Choi, S. E., Mukherjee, S., Gibbons, L. E., Sanders, R. E., Jones, R. N., Tommet, D., et al. (2020). Development and validation of language and visuospatial composite scores in ADNI. Alzheimer's & dementia (New York, N. Y.). https://doi.org/10.1002/trc2.12072

Vancouver

Choi SE, Mukherjee S, Gibbons LE, Sanders RE, Jones RN, Tommet D, et al. Development and validation of language and visuospatial composite scores in ADNI. Alzheimer's & dementia (New York, N. Y.). 2020. doi:10.1002/trc2.12072. PMID: 33313380.

BibTeX

@article{choi2020-33313380,
  author  = {Choi, S. E. and Mukherjee, S. and Gibbons, L. E. and Sanders, R. E. and Jones, R. N. and Tommet, D. and Mez, J. and Trittschuh, E. H. and others},
  title   = {{Development and validation of language and visuospatial composite scores in ADNI}},
  journal = {Alzheimer's \& dementia (New York, N. Y.)},
  year    = {2020},
  doi     = {10.1002/trc2.12072},
  pmid    = {33313380},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1002/trc2.12072}
}

Studies this one cites

Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here. Showing 12 of 14.

Later studies that cite this one

8 studies in the alzhub library list this one in their references.

Related studies in Long-term cohort studies

Also in Long-term cohort studies

54 studies in the library are filed under Long-term cohort studies with no topic tag they share with another; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed tour of them. The Long-term cohort studies hub.

Similar studies

More on Long-term cohort studies

See all studies in Long-term cohort studies →