Home › Research › Biomarkers
Comparison of plasma ALZpath p-Tau217 with Lilly p-Tau217 and p-Tau181 in a neuropathological cohort
Divya Bali, Gemma Salvadó, Thomas G Beach, Geidy E Serrano, Alireza Atri, Eric M Reiman, Andreas Jeromin, Oskar Hansson et al.. Acta neuropathologica communications, 2025-06-30
Topic: Plasma and spinal-fluid biomarkers
Plasma biomarkers were compared with densities of post-mortem-assessed amyloid plaques and neurofibrillary changes. Levels of p-Tau217ALZpath, p-Tau217Lilly and p-Tau181Lilly were significantly associated with plaque (partial Spearman ρ = 0.58, ρ = 0.78, ρ = 0.65; p < 0.001) and neurofibrillary (ρ = 0.26, ρ = 0.51, ρ = 0.37; p < 0.05) density scores, adjusting for age, sex, and time of interval between blood sampling and death. All three biomarkers were also significantly associated with plaque density scores (p-Tau217ALZpath, ρ = 0.53; p-Tau217Lilly, ρ = 0.73; p-Tau181Lilly, ρ = 0.59; p < 0.001), when additionally adjusting for neurofibrillary density scores. However, only p-Tau217Lilly was significantly associated with neurofibrillary density scores (ρ = 0.32, p = 0.022), when adjusting for plaque density scores. The correlations of p-Tau217ALZpath and p-Tau181Lilly with plaque density scores were comparable, whereas p-Tau217Lilly exhibited significantly higher correlations with plaques (pdiff≤0.015) and neurofibrillary changes (pdiff≤0.004) than p-Tau217ALZpath. Braak V-VI) and CERAD neuritic plaque classification (low/sparse vs. moderate/frequent) with similar accuracies (area under the curve [AUC]range, 0.74-0.79), p-Tau217Lilly AUCs were significantly higher (AUCrange,0.82-0.89, pdiff≤0.024) than the AUCs of p-Tau217ALZpath. In conclusion, p-Tau217ALZpath exhibited similar performance as p-Tau181Lilly but its correlations with core measures of AD pathology were significantly lower in comparison with p-Tau217Lilly. Future studies are warranted to replicate these findings in larger independent cohorts.
Key findings
- Plasma biomarkers were compared with densities of post-mortem-assessed amyloid plaques and neurofibrillary changes.
- Levels of p-Tau217ALZpath, p-Tau217Lilly and p-Tau181Lilly were significantly associated with plaque (partial Spearman ρ = 0.58, ρ = 0.78, ρ = 0.65; p < 0.001) and neurofibrillary (ρ = 0.26, ρ = 0.51, ρ = 0.37; p < 0.05) density scores, adjusting for age, sex, and time of interval between blood sampling and death.
- All three biomarkers were also significantly associated with plaque density scores (p-Tau217ALZpath, ρ = 0.53; p-Tau217Lilly, ρ = 0.73; p-Tau181Lilly, ρ = 0.59; p < 0.001), when additionally adjusting for neurofibrillary density scores.
- However, only p-Tau217Lilly was significantly associated with neurofibrillary density scores (ρ = 0.32, p = 0.022), when adjusting for plaque density scores.
- The correlations of p-Tau217ALZpath and p-Tau181Lilly with plaque density scores were comparable, whereas p-Tau217Lilly exhibited significantly higher correlations with plaques (pdiff≤0.015) and neurofibrillary changes (pdiff≤0.004) than p-Tau217ALZpath.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Blood tests & biomarkers →
Study details
- Participants72
- Evidence strengthModerate
How this study scored 54/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record, multi-centre collaboration and free to read, so those were left out: it earned 30 of the 56 points we could judge it on, which is 54 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Acta neuropathologica communications) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 3 / 5 | Rated “moderate” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 4 / 5 | 2025 — within 3 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 1 / 4 | 72 participants |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (participant count stated) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 40588775) |
| Free to read | — / 2 | Access not recorded — left out of this score |
| Points | 30 / 56 | Scored on 10 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 30 of the 56 points we could judge it on is 54 out of 100. |
| Total | 54 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
APA 7th
Bali, D., Salvadó, G., Beach, T. G., Serrano, G. E., Atri, A., Reiman, E. M., et al. (2025). Comparison of plasma ALZpath p-Tau217 with Lilly p-Tau217 and p-Tau181 in a neuropathological cohort. Acta neuropathologica communications. https://doi.org/10.1186/s40478-025-02064-2
Vancouver
Bali D, Salvadó G, Beach TG, Serrano GE, Atri A, Reiman EM, et al. Comparison of plasma ALZpath p-Tau217 with Lilly p-Tau217 and p-Tau181 in a neuropathological cohort. Acta neuropathologica communications. 2025. doi:10.1186/s40478-025-02064-2. PMID: 40588775.
BibTeX
@article{bali2025-40588775,
author = {Bali, Divya and Salvadó, Gemma and Beach, Thomas G and Serrano, Geidy E and Atri, Alireza and Reiman, Eric M and Jeromin, Andreas and Hansson, Oskar and others},
title = {{Comparison of plasma ALZpath p-Tau217 with Lilly p-Tau217 and p-Tau181 in a neuropathological cohort}},
journal = {Acta neuropathologica communications},
year = {2025},
doi = {10.1186/s40478-025-02064-2},
pmid = {40588775},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1186/s40478-025-02064-2}
}
Related studies in Biomarkers
Also tagged “blood-based”
698 studies in the library carry the topic tag “blood-based”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 698 tagged studies.