Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 57 out of 100. Biomarkers

Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis

Introduction Choroid plexus (ChP) enlargement is a neuroimaging biomarker of neuroinflammation and neurodegeneration. However, evidence of ChP structural and perfusion alterations in long coronavirus disease (COVID) and their clinical relevance remains limited. Methods This study included 86 long COVID, 67 recovered COVID, and 26 COVID-negative healthy controls (HCs). ChP volume and cerebral blood flow (CBF) were quantified, and their associations with Alzheimer's disease (AD) symptoms and plasma biomarkers were examined. Results Both patient groups showed higher ChP volume and lower CBF than HC. Relative to recovered COVID, long COVID patients had a larger ChP volume, but no significant difference in CBF. ChP volume correlated positively with glial fibrillary acidic protein (r = 0.35) and phosphorylated tau217 (p-tau217; r = 0.54), while CBF correlated negatively with p-tau217 (r = -0.56). Both ChP volume and CBF were associated with cognitive decline measured with Mini-Mental State Examination and Clinical Dementia Rating. Discussion These findings suggest that ChP differences in long COVID are associated with AD-related cognitive decline and increased plasma biomarkers. Highlights Long coronavirus disease (COVID) patients show choroid plexus (ChP) enlargement and reduced cerebral blood flow. ChP alterations are associated with Alzheimer's disease (AD)-related symptoms and plasma biomarker changes. ChP alterations on magnetic resonance imaging may serve as imaging markers for tracking neurological symptoms and AD-related pathology in post-COVID patients.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Pang, H., Frontera, J., Jiang, L., Li, C., Boutajangout, A., Sun, Z., et al. (2026). Choroid plexus alterations in long COVID and their associations with Alzheimer's disease risks. Alzheimer's & dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association. https://doi.org/10.1002/alz.71020

Vancouver

Pang H, Frontera J, Jiang L, Li C, Boutajangout A, Sun Z, et al. Choroid plexus alterations in long COVID and their associations with Alzheimer's disease risks. Alzheimer's & dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association. 2026. doi:10.1002/alz.71020. PMID: 41612939.

BibTeX

@article{pang2026-41612939,
  author  = {Pang, H. and Frontera, J. and Jiang, L. and Li, C. and Boutajangout, A. and Sun, Z. and Debure, L. and Ghuman, M. and others},
  title   = {{Choroid plexus alterations in long COVID and their associations with Alzheimer's disease risks}},
  journal = {Alzheimer's \& dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association},
  year    = {2026},
  doi     = {10.1002/alz.71020},
  pmid    = {41612939},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1002/alz.71020}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 57/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 9 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 5 of 5; Sample size 1 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 2 of 2. 33 of the 58 points it could be judged on, which is 57 of 100. Total 57 of 100.33 of the 58 points we could judge = 57 of 100

Published in a leading specialty journal. Scored zero for study design, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 33 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 57 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 9 / 10 Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (Alzheimer's & dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 5 / 5 2026 — within 1 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 1 / 4 86 participants
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 41612939)
Free to read 2 / 2 Free to read
Points 33 / 58 Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 33 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 57 out of 100.
Total 57 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Related studies in Biomarkers

Also tagged “alterations”

4 studies in the library carry the topic tag “alterations”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 4 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Biomarkers

See all studies in Biomarkers →