Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 48 out of 100. TREM2 and immune genetics

Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis

Introduction MODEL-AD (Model Organism Development and Evaluation for Late-Onset Alzheimer's Disease) is creating and distributing novel mouse models with humanized, clinically relevant genetic risk factors to capture the trajectory and progression of late-onset Alzheimer's disease (LOAD) more accurately. Methods We created the LOAD2 model by combining apolipoprotein E4 (APOE4), Trem2*R47H, and humanized amyloid-beta (Aβ). Mice were subjected to a control diet or a high-fat/high-sugar diet (LOAD2+HFD). We assessed disease-relevant outcome measures in plasma and brain including neuroinflammation, Aβ, neurodegeneration, neuroimaging, and multi-omics. Results By 18 months, LOAD2+HFD mice exhibited sex-specific neuron loss, elevated insoluble brain Aβ42, increased plasma neurofilament light chain (NfL), and altered gene/protein expression related to lipid metabolism and synaptic function. Imaging showed reductions in brain volume and neurovascular uncoupling. Deficits in acquiring touchscreen-based cognitive tasks were observed. Discussion The comprehensive characterization of LOAD2+HFD mice reveals that this model is important for preclinical studies seeking to understand disease trajectory and progression of LOAD prior to or independent of amyloid plaques and tau tangles. Highlights By 18 months, unlike control mice (e.g., LOAD2 mice fed a control diet, CD), LOAD2+HFD mice presented subtle but significant loss of neurons in the cortex, elevated levels of insoluble Ab42 in the brain, and increased plasma neurofilament light chain (NfL). Transcriptomics and proteomics showed changes in gene/proteins relating to a variety of disease-relevant processes including lipid metabolism and synaptic function. In vivo imaging revealed an age-dependent reduction in brain region volume (MRI) and neurovascular uncoupling (PET/CT). LOAD2+HFD mice also demonstrated deficits in acquisition of touchscreen-based cognitive tasks.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Kotredes, K. P., Pandey, R. S., Persohn, S., Elderidge, K., Burton, C. P., Miner, E. W., et al. (2024). Characterizing molecular and synaptic signatures in mouse models of late-onset Alzheimer's disease independent of amyloid and tau pathology. Alzheimer's & dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association. https://doi.org/10.1002/alz.13828

Vancouver

Kotredes KP, Pandey RS, Persohn S, Elderidge K, Burton CP, Miner EW, et al. Characterizing molecular and synaptic signatures in mouse models of late-onset Alzheimer's disease independent of amyloid and tau pathology. Alzheimer's & dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association. 2024. doi:10.1002/alz.13828. PMID: 38735056.

BibTeX

@article{kotredes2024-38735056,
  author  = {Kotredes, K. P. and Pandey, R. S. and Persohn, S. and Elderidge, K. and Burton, C. P. and Miner, E. W. and Haynes, K. A. and Santos, D. F. S. and others},
  title   = {{Characterizing molecular and synaptic signatures in mouse models of late-onset Alzheimer's disease independent of amyloid and tau pathology}},
  journal = {Alzheimer's \& dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association},
  year    = {2024},
  doi     = {10.1002/alz.13828},
  pmid    = {38735056},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1002/alz.13828}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 48/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 9 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 4 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 0 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 2 of 2. 28 of the 58 points it could be judged on, which is 48 of 100. Total 48 of 100.28 of the 58 points we could judge = 48 of 100

Published in a leading specialty journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 28 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 48 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 9 / 10 Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (Alzheimer's & dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 4 / 5 2024 — within 3 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 0 / 3 Laboratory or animal study (title names “mouse”) — scores zero
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 38735056)
Free to read 2 / 2 Free to read
Points 28 / 58 Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 28 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 48 out of 100.
Total 48 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Related studies in TREM2 and immune genetics

Also tagged “independent”

4 studies in the library carry the topic tag “independent”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 4 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on TREM2 and immune genetics

See all studies in TREM2 and immune genetics →