Home › Research › Biomarkers
Cerebrospinal fluid biomarkers in the Longitudinal Early-onset Alzheimer's Disease Study
Jeffrey L Dage, Ani Eloyan, Maryanne Thangarajah, Dustin B Hammers, Anne M Fagan, Julia D Gray, Suzanne E Schindler, Casey Snoddy et al.. Alzheimer's & dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association, 2023-07-25
Topic: Plasma and spinal-fluid biomarkers
Biomarkers were correlated with one another. Levels of CSF Aβ42/40, pTau181, tTau, SNAP-25, and Ng in EOAD differed significantly from cognitively normal and early-onset non-AD dementia; NfL, YKL-40, and VILIP-1 did not. Across groups, all biomarkers except SNAP-25 were correlated with cognition. Within the EOAD group, Aβ42/40, NfL, Ng, and SNAP-25 were correlated with at least one cognitive measure. This study provides a comprehensive analysis of CSF biomarkers in sporadic EOAD that can inform EOAD clinical trial design.
Key findings
- Biomarkers were correlated with one another.
- Levels of CSF Aβ42/40, pTau181, tTau, SNAP-25, and Ng in EOAD differed significantly from cognitively normal and early-onset non-AD dementia; NfL, YKL-40, and VILIP-1 did not.
- Across groups, all biomarkers except SNAP-25 were correlated with cognition.
- Within the EOAD group, Aβ42/40, NfL, Ng, and SNAP-25 were correlated with at least one cognitive measure.
- This study provides a comprehensive analysis of CSF biomarkers in sporadic EOAD that can inform EOAD clinical trial design.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Blood tests & biomarkers →
Study details
- Study designlongitudinal study
- Evidence strengthModerate
How this study scored 61/100
Published in a leading specialty journal, and it is a longitudinal study following the same people over time. Scored zero for sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record, multi-centre collaboration and free to read, so those were left out: it earned 34 of the 56 points we could judge it on, which is 61 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 9 / 10 | Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (Alzheimer's & dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 7 / 12 | A longitudinal study following the same people over time |
| Strength of evidence | 3 / 5 | Rated “moderate” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 3 / 5 | 2023 — within 6 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 0 / 4 | Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 0 / 3 | Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 37491668) |
| Free to read | — / 2 | Access not recorded — left out of this score |
| Points | 34 / 56 | Scored on 10 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 34 of the 56 points we could judge it on is 61 out of 100. |
| Total | 61 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
APA 7th
Dage, J. L., Eloyan, A., Thangarajah, M., Hammers, D. B., Fagan, A. M., Gray, J. D., et al. (2023). Cerebrospinal fluid biomarkers in the Longitudinal Early-onset Alzheimer's Disease Study. Alzheimer's & dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association. https://doi.org/10.1002/alz.13399
Vancouver
Dage JL, Eloyan A, Thangarajah M, Hammers DB, Fagan AM, Gray JD, et al. Cerebrospinal fluid biomarkers in the Longitudinal Early-onset Alzheimer's Disease Study. Alzheimer's & dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association. 2023. doi:10.1002/alz.13399. PMID: 37491668.
BibTeX
@article{dage2023-37491668,
author = {Dage, Jeffrey L and Eloyan, Ani and Thangarajah, Maryanne and Hammers, Dustin B and Fagan, Anne M and Gray, Julia D and Schindler, Suzanne E and Snoddy, Casey and others},
title = {{Cerebrospinal fluid biomarkers in the Longitudinal Early-onset Alzheimer's Disease Study}},
journal = {Alzheimer's \& dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association},
year = {2023},
doi = {10.1002/alz.13399},
pmid = {37491668},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1002/alz.13399}
}
Related studies in Biomarkers
Also tagged “blood-based”
698 studies in the library carry the topic tag “blood-based”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 698 tagged studies.