Home › Research › Biomarkers
Blood and cerebrospinal fluid neurofilament light differentially detect neurodegeneration in early Alzheimer's disease
Emelie Andersson, Shorena Janelidze, Björn Lampinen, Markus Nilsson, Antoine Leuzy, Erik Stomrud, Kaj Blennow, Henrik Zetterberg et al.. Neurobiology of aging, 2020-07-25
Topic: Plasma and spinal-fluid biomarkers
Cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) neurofilament light (NfL) concentration has reproducibly been shown to reflect neurodegeneration in brain disorders, including Alzheimer's disease (AD). NfL concentration in blood correlates with the corresponding CSF levels, but few studies have directly compared the reliability of these 2 markers in sporadic AD. Herein, we measured plasma and CSF concentrations of NfL in 478 cognitively unimpaired (CU) subjects, 227 patients with mild cognitive impairment, and 113 patients with AD dementia. We found that the concentration of NfL in CSF, but not in plasma, was increased in response to Aβ pathology in CU subjects. Both CSF and plasma NfL concentrations were increased in patients with mild cognitive impairment and AD dementia. Furthermore, only NfL in CSF was associated with reduced white matter microstructure in CU subjects. Finally, in a transgenic mouse model of AD, CSF NfL increased before serum NfL in response to the development of Aβ pathology. In conclusion, NfL in CSF may be a more reliable biomarker of neurodegeneration than NfL in blood in preclinical sporadic AD.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Andersson, E., Janelidze, S., Lampinen, B., Nilsson, M., Leuzy, A., Stomrud, E., et al. (2020). Blood and cerebrospinal fluid neurofilament light differentially detect neurodegeneration in early Alzheimer's disease. Neurobiology of aging. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.neurobiolaging.2020.07.018
Vancouver
Andersson E, Janelidze S, Lampinen B, Nilsson M, Leuzy A, Stomrud E, et al. Blood and cerebrospinal fluid neurofilament light differentially detect neurodegeneration in early Alzheimer's disease. Neurobiology of aging. 2020. doi:10.1016/j.neurobiolaging.2020.07.018. PMID: 32810755.
BibTeX
@article{andersson2020-32810755,
author = {Andersson, Emelie and Janelidze, Shorena and Lampinen, Björn and Nilsson, Markus and Leuzy, Antoine and Stomrud, Erik and Blennow, Kaj and Zetterberg, Henrik and others},
title = {{Blood and cerebrospinal fluid neurofilament light differentially detect neurodegeneration in early Alzheimer's disease}},
journal = {Neurobiology of aging},
year = {2020},
doi = {10.1016/j.neurobiolaging.2020.07.018},
pmid = {32810755},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1016/j.neurobiolaging.2020.07.018}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- We found that the concentration of NfL in CSF, but not in plasma, was increased in response to Aβ pathology in CU subjects.
- Furthermore, only NfL in CSF was associated with reduced white matter microstructure in CU subjects.
- In conclusion, NfL in CSF may be a more reliable biomarker of neurodegeneration than NfL in blood in preclinical sporadic AD.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Blood tests & biomarkers →
Study details
- Participants227
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 48/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record, multi-centre collaboration and free to read, so those were left out: it earned 27 of the 56 points we could judge it on, which is 48 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Neurobiology of aging) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 2 / 5 | 2020 — within 10 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 2 / 4 | 227 participants |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (participant count stated) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 32810755) |
| Free to read | — / 2 | Access not recorded — left out of this score |
| Points | 27 / 56 | Scored on 10 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 27 of the 56 points we could judge it on is 48 out of 100. |
| Total | 48 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Related studies in Biomarkers
Also tagged “neurofilament”
697 studies in the library carry the topic tag “neurofilament”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 697 tagged studies.