Home › Research › Biomarkers
Cerebrospinal Fluid and Plasma Biomarkers do not Differ in the Presenile and Late-Onset Behavioral Variants of Frontotemporal Dementia
Marelli C, Hourregue C, Gutierrez LA, Paquet C, Menjot de Champfleur N, De Verbizier D, Jacob M, Dubois J et al.. Journal of Alzheimer's disease : JAD, 2020-01-01
Topic: Brain proteins, microglia and lab models
Background Memory troubles and hippocampal atrophy are considered more frequent and focal atrophy less severe in late-onset (>65 years) than in presenile behavioral variant of frontotemporal dementia (bvFTD). Objective To compare cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) and plasma biomarkers in late-onset and presenile bvFTD. Methods Multicentric retrospective study (2007-2017) on patients with clinical diagnosis of bvFTD. Results This study included 44 patients (67%) with presenile and 22 (33%) with late-onset bvFTD (comparable mean disease duration; n = 11 with causal mutations). Hippocampal atrophy was more frequent (80% versus 25.8%) and severe in late-onset bvFTD (median Scheltens score: 3 [0-4] versus 1 [0-3]), without difference after adjustment for age. Lobar atrophy and focal hypometabolism/hypoperfusion were not different between groups. The median CSF Aβ1-42 and phosphorylated tau (P-tau) concentrations were in the normal range and comparable between groups. Axonal neurodegeneration biomarkers were within the normal range (CSF T-tau; plasma T-tau in late-onset bvFTD) or higher (plasma neurofilament light chain (NFL); plasma T-tau in presenile bvFTD) than the normal values, but globally not different between bvFTD groups. Plasma glial fibrillary acid protein (GFAP) was strongly increased in both bvFTD groups compared with the values in controls of the same age. Conclusion The CSF and plasma biomarker profiles did not suggest a more aggressive neurodegeneration in the presenile group (comparable T-tau, NFL, and GFAP levels) or the co-existence of Alzheimer's disease in the late-onset group (comparable and within normal range CSF Aβ1-42 and P-tau). The severity of the neurodegenerative process seems comparable in presenile and late-onset bvFTD.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Marelli, C., Hourregue, C., Gutierrez, L. A., Paquet, C., Menjot de Champfleur, N., De Verbizier, D., et al. (2020). Cerebrospinal Fluid and Plasma Biomarkers do not Differ in the Presenile and Late-Onset Behavioral Variants of Frontotemporal Dementia. Journal of Alzheimer's disease : JAD. https://doi.org/10.3233/jad-190378
Vancouver
Marelli C, Hourregue C, Gutierrez LA, Paquet C, Menjot de Champfleur N, De Verbizier D, et al. Cerebrospinal Fluid and Plasma Biomarkers do not Differ in the Presenile and Late-Onset Behavioral Variants of Frontotemporal Dementia. Journal of Alzheimer's disease : JAD. 2020. doi:10.3233/jad-190378. PMID: 32083577.
BibTeX
@article{marelli2020-32083577,
author = {Marelli, C. and Hourregue, C. and Gutierrez, L. A. and Paquet, C. and Menjot de Champfleur, N. and De Verbizier, D. and Jacob, M. and Dubois, J. and others},
title = {{Cerebrospinal Fluid and Plasma Biomarkers do not Differ in the Presenile and Late-Onset Behavioral Variants of Frontotemporal Dementia}},
journal = {Journal of Alzheimer's disease : JAD},
year = {2020},
doi = {10.3233/jad-190378},
pmid = {32083577},
url = {https://doi.org/10.3233/jad-190378}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- Results This study included 44 patients (67%) with presenile and 22 (33%) with late-onset bvFTD (comparable mean disease duration; n = 11 with causal mutations).
- Hippocampal atrophy was more frequent (80% versus 25.8%) and severe in late-onset bvFTD (median Scheltens score: 3 [0-4] versus 1 [0-3]), without difference after adjustment for age.
- Plasma glial fibrillary acid protein (GFAP) was strongly increased in both bvFTD groups compared with the values in controls of the same age.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Blood tests & biomarkers →
Study details
- Participants44
- Effect size25.8%
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 49/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record and institution's track record, so those were left out: it earned 30 of the 61 points we could judge it on, which is 49 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Journal of Alzheimer's disease : JAD) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 2 / 5 | 2020 — within 10 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 1 / 4 | 44 participants |
| Effect reported | 2 / 3 | Effect reported as a number, without an interval or test |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (participant count stated) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | 2 / 3 | PubMed indexes it as a multicentre study |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 32083577) |
| Free to read | 0 / 2 | Behind a paywall — scores zero |
| Points | 30 / 61 | Scored on 12 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 30 of the 61 points we could judge it on is 49 out of 100. |
| Total | 49 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Related studies in Biomarkers
Also tagged “frontotemporal-dementia”
6 studies in the library carry the topic tag “frontotemporal-dementia”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 6 tagged studies.