Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 49 out of 100. Biomarkers

Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis

Introduction Within-person trajectories of cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) biomarkers in Alzheimer's disease (AD) are not well defined. Methods We included 467 subjects from the BIOMARKAPD study with at least two serial CSF samples. Diagnoses were subjective cognitive decline (n = 75), mild cognitive impairment (n = 128), and AD dementia (n = 110), and a group of cognitively unimpaired subjects (n = 154) were also included. We measured baseline and follow-up CSF levels of total tau (t-tau), phosphorylated tau (p-tau), YKL-40, and neurofilament light (NfL). Median CSF sampling interval was 2.1 years. Results CSF levels of t-tau, p-tau, NfL, and YKL-40 were 2% higher per each year of baseline age in controls (P <.001). In AD, t-tau levels were 1% lower (P <.001) and p-tau levels did not change per each year of baseline age. Longitudinally, only NfL (P <.001) and YKL-40 (P <.02) increased during the study period. Discussion All four CSF biomarkers increase with age, but this effect deviates in AD for t-tau and p-tau.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Lleó, A., Alcolea, D., Martínez-Lage, P., Scheltens, P., Parnetti, L., Poirier, J., et al. (2019). Longitudinal cerebrospinal fluid biomarker trajectories along the Alzheimer's disease continuum in the BIOMARKAPD study. Alzheimer's & dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jalz.2019.01.015

Vancouver

Lleó A, Alcolea D, Martínez-Lage P, Scheltens P, Parnetti L, Poirier J, et al. Longitudinal cerebrospinal fluid biomarker trajectories along the Alzheimer's disease continuum in the BIOMARKAPD study. Alzheimer's & dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association. 2019. doi:10.1016/j.jalz.2019.01.015. PMID: 30967340.

BibTeX

@article{lleo2019-30967340,
  author  = {Lleó, A. and Alcolea, D. and Martínez-Lage, P. and Scheltens, P. and Parnetti, L. and Poirier, J. and Simonsen, A. H. and Verbeek, M. M. and others},
  title   = {{Longitudinal cerebrospinal fluid biomarker trajectories along the Alzheimer's disease continuum in the BIOMARKAPD study}},
  journal = {Alzheimer's \& dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association},
  year    = {2019},
  doi     = {10.1016/j.jalz.2019.01.015},
  pmid    = {30967340},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jalz.2019.01.015}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 49/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 9 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 2 of 5; Sample size 1 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration 2 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. 30 of the 61 points it could be judged on, which is 49 of 100. Total 49 of 100.30 of the 61 points we could judge = 49 of 100

Published in a leading specialty journal. Scored zero for study design, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record and institution's track record, so those were left out: it earned 30 of the 61 points we could judge it on, which is 49 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 9 / 10 Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (Alzheimer's & dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 2 / 5 2019 — within 10 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 1 / 4 75 participants
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration 2 / 3 PubMed indexes it as a multicentre study
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 30967340)
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Points 30 / 61 Scored on 12 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 30 of the 61 points we could judge it on is 49 out of 100.
Total 49 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Related studies in Biomarkers

Also tagged “csf”

15 studies in the library carry the topic tag “csf”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 15 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Biomarkers

See all studies in Biomarkers →