Home › Research › Long-term cohort studies
Quantitative validation of a visual rating scale for frontal atrophy: associations with clinical status, APOE e4, CSF biomarkers and cognition
Ferreira D, Cavallin L, Granberg T, Lindberg O, Aguilar C, Mecocci P, Vellas B, Tsolaki M et al.. European radiology, 2015-11-11
Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies
Objectives To validate a visual rating scale of frontal atrophy with quantitative imaging and study its association with clinical status, APOE ε4, CSF biomarkers, and cognition. Methods The AddNeuroMed and ADNI cohorts were combined giving a total of 329 healthy controls, 421 mild cognitive impairment patients, and 286 Alzheimer's disease (AD) patients. Thirty-four patients with frontotemporal dementia (FTD) were also included.
Key findings
- Methods The AddNeuroMed and ADNI cohorts were combined giving a total of 329 healthy controls, 421 mild cognitive impairment patients, and 286 Alzheimer's disease (AD) patients.
- Thirty-four patients with frontotemporal dementia (FTD) were also included.
- Frontal atrophy was assessed with the frontal sub-scale of the global cortical atrophy scale (GCA-F) on T1-weighted images.
- Automated imaging markers of cortical volume, thickness, and surface area were evaluated.
Why it matters
This study validated a visual rating scale for frontal brain atrophy and examined its links to clinical status, APOE e4, CSF biomarkers, and cognition. It is about measuring brain changes, not about treating, curing, or preventing Alzheimer's disease.
Study details
- Participants329
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 46/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (European radiology) |
| Journal's citation record | 2 / 4 | European Radiology: journal h-index 211 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29) |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 1 / 5 | 2016 — within 20 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 2 / 4 | 329 participants |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (participant count stated) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | 4 / 7 | Cited 48 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10) |
| Citations per year | 2 / 5 | 4.0 citations a year over 12 year(s) since 2016 |
| Impact for its field and year | 2 / 6 | Cited 2.9× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI) |
| Cited by studies here | 1 / 6 | Cited by 2 other studies in this library |
| Still being cited | 1 / 4 | Cited 9 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex) |
| Senior author's track record | 3 / 4 | Last-listed author Eric Westman: h-index 76 (OpenAlex, whole career) |
| Institution's track record | 2 / 3 | University of Oxford: institution h-index 2,205 (OpenAlex) |
| Multi-centre collaboration | 3 / 3 | OpenAlex lists 11 institution(s) in 6 countries |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 26560730) |
| Free to read | 0 / 2 | Behind a paywall — scores zero |
| Total | 46 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
May need a subscription OpenAlex found no free copy of the full text (checked 6 Feb 1020), so the publisher may charge for it. The PubMed abstract is free.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
APA 7th
Ferreira, D., Cavallin, L., Granberg, T., Lindberg, O., Aguilar, C., Mecocci, P., et al. (2016). Quantitative validation of a visual rating scale for frontal atrophy: associations with clinical status, APOE e4, CSF biomarkers and cognition. European radiology. https://doi.org/10.1007/s00330-015-4101-9
Vancouver
Ferreira D, Cavallin L, Granberg T, Lindberg O, Aguilar C, Mecocci P, et al. Quantitative validation of a visual rating scale for frontal atrophy: associations with clinical status, APOE e4, CSF biomarkers and cognition. European radiology. 2016. doi:10.1007/s00330-015-4101-9. PMID: 26560730.
BibTeX
@article{ferreira2016-26560730,
author = {Ferreira, D. and Cavallin, L. and Granberg, T. and Lindberg, O. and Aguilar, C. and Mecocci, P. and Vellas, B. and Tsolaki, M. and others},
title = {{Quantitative validation of a visual rating scale for frontal atrophy: associations with clinical status, APOE e4, CSF biomarkers and cognition}},
journal = {European radiology},
year = {2016},
doi = {10.1007/s00330-015-4101-9},
pmid = {26560730},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1007/s00330-015-4101-9}
}
Studies this one cites
Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here. Showing 12 of 13.
Later studies that cite this one
2 studies in the alzhub library list this one in their references.