Home › Research › Biomarkers
Preclinical dementia rating scores are associated with plasma phosphorylated tau-217
Qi Huang, Erin M Jonaitis, Rachel L Studer, Rachael Wilson, Ramiro Eduardo Rea Reyes, Henrik Zetterberg, Lianlian Du, Bruce P Hermann et al.. Alzheimer's & dementia (Amsterdam, Netherlands), 2025-09-07
Topic: Plasma and spinal-fluid biomarkers
Higher baseline pTau217 levels were associated with faster functional (QDRS) and cognitive (PACC3) decline. Effect sizes were similar between PACC3 and QDRS. Exploratory analyses showed increased risk of transitioning to impaired QDRS classifications in those with high-baseline pTau217. This study demonstrates the utility of QDRS for tracking pre-dementia AD-related decline.
Key findings
- Higher baseline pTau217 levels were associated with faster functional (QDRS) and cognitive (PACC3) decline.
- Effect sizes were similar between PACC3 and QDRS.
- Exploratory analyses showed increased risk of transitioning to impaired QDRS classifications in those with high-baseline pTau217.
- This study demonstrates the utility of QDRS for tracking pre-dementia AD-related decline.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Blood tests & biomarkers →
Study details
- Study designlongitudinal study
- Participants639
- Evidence strengthModerate
How this study scored 71/100
Published in a leading specialty journal, and it is a longitudinal study following the same people over time. Scored zero for effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record, multi-centre collaboration and free to read, so those were left out: it earned 40 of the 56 points we could judge it on, which is 71 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 9 / 10 | Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (Alzheimer's & dementia (Amsterdam, Netherlands)) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 7 / 12 | A longitudinal study following the same people over time |
| Strength of evidence | 3 / 5 | Rated “moderate” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 4 / 5 | 2025 — within 3 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 2 / 4 | 639 participants |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (participant count stated) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 40927740) |
| Free to read | — / 2 | Access not recorded — left out of this score |
| Points | 40 / 56 | Scored on 10 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 40 of the 56 points we could judge it on is 71 out of 100. |
| Total | 71 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
APA 7th
Huang, Q., Jonaitis, E. M., Studer, R. L., Wilson, R., Reyes, R. E. R., Zetterberg, H., et al. (2025). Preclinical dementia rating scores are associated with plasma phosphorylated tau-217. Alzheimer's & dementia (Amsterdam, Netherlands). https://doi.org/10.1002/dad2.70179
Vancouver
Huang Q, Jonaitis EM, Studer RL, Wilson R, Reyes RER, Zetterberg H, et al. Preclinical dementia rating scores are associated with plasma phosphorylated tau-217. Alzheimer's & dementia (Amsterdam, Netherlands). 2025. doi:10.1002/dad2.70179. PMID: 40927740.
BibTeX
@article{huang2025-40927740,
author = {Huang, Qi and Jonaitis, Erin M and Studer, Rachel L and Wilson, Rachael and Reyes, Ramiro Eduardo Rea and Zetterberg, Henrik and Du, Lianlian and Hermann, Bruce P and others},
title = {{Preclinical dementia rating scores are associated with plasma phosphorylated tau-217}},
journal = {Alzheimer's \& dementia (Amsterdam, Netherlands)},
year = {2025},
doi = {10.1002/dad2.70179},
pmid = {40927740},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1002/dad2.70179}
}
Related studies in Biomarkers
Also tagged “blood-based”
698 studies in the library carry the topic tag “blood-based”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 698 tagged studies.