Home › Research › Biomarkers
Plasma S100β is a predictor for pathology and cognitive decline in Alzheimer's disease
Nehra G, Maloney BJ, Smith RR, Chumboatong W, Abner EL, Nelson PT, Bauer B, Hartz AMS.. Fluids and barriers of the CNS, 2025-01-09
Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis
The goal of this study was to assess markers for barrier dysfunction in postmortem tissue samples from research participants who were either cognitively normal individuals (CNI) or diagnosed with AD at the time of autopsy and determine to what extent these markers are associated with AD neuropathologic changes (ADNC) and cognitive impairment. Results As expected, we detected elevated Aβ and tau pathology in brain tissue sections from AD patients compared to CNI. However, we found no differences in microvascular diameters in cleared AD and CNI brain tissue sections. Plasma biomarker analysis showed that AD patients had 12.4-fold higher S100β plasma levels, twofold lower NSE plasma levels, 2.4-fold higher MMP-9 plasma levels, and 1.2-fold lower MMP-2 plasma levels than CNI. Data analysis revealed that elevated S100β plasma levels were predictive of AD pathology and cognitive impairment. Conclusion Our data suggest that among different markers relevant to barrier dysfunction, plasma S100β is the most promising diagnostic biomarker for ADNC.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Nehra, G., Maloney, B. J., Smith, R. R., Chumboatong, W., Abner, E. L., Nelson, P. T., et al. (2025). Plasma S100β is a predictor for pathology and cognitive decline in Alzheimer's disease. Fluids and barriers of the CNS. https://doi.org/10.1186/s12987-024-00615-8
Vancouver
Nehra G, Maloney BJ, Smith RR, Chumboatong W, Abner EL, Nelson PT, et al. Plasma S100β is a predictor for pathology and cognitive decline in Alzheimer's disease. Fluids and barriers of the CNS. 2025. doi:10.1186/s12987-024-00615-8. PMID: 39789614.
BibTeX
@article{nehra2025-39789614,
author = {Nehra, G. and Maloney, B. J. and Smith, R. R. and Chumboatong, W. and Abner, E. L. and Nelson, P. T. and Bauer, B. and Hartz, A. M. S.},
title = {{Plasma S100β is a predictor for pathology and cognitive decline in Alzheimer's disease}},
journal = {Fluids and barriers of the CNS},
year = {2025},
doi = {10.1186/s12987-024-00615-8},
pmid = {39789614},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1186/s12987-024-00615-8}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record names 8 authors; APA and Vancouver show the first six, BibTeX and the downloads carry all of them. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- The goal of this study was to assess markers for barrier dysfunction in postmortem tissue samples from research participants who were either cognitively normal individuals (CNI) or diagnosed with AD at the time of autopsy and determine to what extent these markers are associated with AD neuropathologic changes (ADNC) and cognitive impairment.
- Results As expected, we detected elevated Aβ and tau pathology in brain tissue sections from AD patients compared to CNI.
- However, we found no differences in microvascular diameters in cleared AD and CNI brain tissue sections.
- Plasma biomarker analysis showed that AD patients had 12.4-fold higher S100β plasma levels, twofold lower NSE plasma levels, 2.4-fold higher MMP-9 plasma levels, and 1.2-fold lower MMP-2 plasma levels than CNI.
- Data analysis revealed that elevated S100β plasma levels were predictive of AD pathology and cognitive impairment.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Blood tests & biomarkers →
Study details
- Participants19
- Evidence strengthModerate
How this study scored 55/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 32 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 55 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Fluids and barriers of the CNS) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 3 / 5 | Rated “moderate” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 4 / 5 | 2025 — within 3 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 1 / 4 | 19 participants |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (participant count stated) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 39789614) |
| Free to read | 2 / 2 | Free to read |
| Points | 32 / 58 | Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 32 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 55 out of 100. |
| Total | 55 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Related studies in Biomarkers
Also tagged “predictors”
3 studies in the library carry the topic tag “predictors”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 3 tagged studies.