Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 36 out of 100. Biomarkers

Topic: Brain proteins, microglia and lab models

Apolipoprotein E4 (ApoE4) is associated with Alzheimer's disease by unknown mechanisms. We generated six transgenic mice strains expressing human ApoE4 in combination with mutant amyloid precursor protein (APP) and mutant presenilin-1 (PS1) in single-, double-, or triple-transgenic combinations. Diffuse, but not dense, amyloid plaque-load in subiculum and cortex was increased by neuronal but not glial ApoE4 in old (15 months) double-transgenic mice, whereas both diffuse and dense plaques formed in thalamus in both genotypes. Neuronal and glial ApoE4 promoted cerebral amyloid angiopathy as extensively as mutant PS1 but with pronounced regional differences: cortical angiopathy was induced by neuronal ApoE4 while thalamic angiopathy was again independent of ApoE4 source. Angiopathy correlated more strongly with soluble Abeta40 and Abeta42 levels in cortex than in thalamus throughout the six genotypes. Neither neuronal nor glial ApoE4 affected APP proteolytic processing, as opposed to mutant PS1. Neuronal ApoE4 increased soluble amyloid levels more than glial ApoE4, but the Abeta42/40 ratios were similar, although significantly higher than in single APP transgenic mice. We conclude that although the cellular origin of ApoE4 differentially affects regional amyloid pathology, ApoE4 acts on the disposition of amyloid peptides downstream from their excision from APP but without induction of tauopathy.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Van Dooren, T., Muyllaert, D., Borghgraef, P., Cresens, A., Devijver, H., Van der Auwera, I., et al. (2006). Neuronal or glial expression of human apolipoprotein e4 affects parenchymal and vascular amyloid pathology differentially in different brain regions of double- and triple-transgenic mice. The American journal of pathology. https://doi.org/10.2353/ajpath.2006.050752

Vancouver

Van Dooren T, Muyllaert D, Borghgraef P, Cresens A, Devijver H, Van der Auwera I, et al. Neuronal or glial expression of human apolipoprotein e4 affects parenchymal and vascular amyloid pathology differentially in different brain regions of double- and triple-transgenic mice. The American journal of pathology. 2006. doi:10.2353/ajpath.2006.050752. PMID: 16400027.

BibTeX

@article{vandooren2006-16400027,
  author  = {Van Dooren, T. and Muyllaert, D. and Borghgraef, P. and Cresens, A. and Devijver, H. and Van der Auwera, I. and Wera, S. and Dewachter, I. and others},
  title   = {{Neuronal or glial expression of human apolipoprotein e4 affects parenchymal and vascular amyloid pathology differentially in different brain regions of double- and triple-transgenic mice}},
  journal = {The American journal of pathology},
  year    = {2006},
  doi     = {10.2353/ajpath.2006.050752},
  pmid    = {16400027},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.2353/ajpath.2006.050752}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 36/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 1 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 0 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. 21 of the 58 points it could be judged on, which is 36 of 100. Total 36 of 100.21 of the 58 points we could judge = 36 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 21 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 36 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (The American journal of pathology)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 1 / 5 2006 — older than 20 years, still counted
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 0 / 3 Laboratory or animal study (title names “transgenic”) — scores zero
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 16400027)
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Points 21 / 58 Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 21 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 36 out of 100.
Total 36 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Related studies in Biomarkers

Also tagged “double”

3 studies in the library carry the topic tag “double”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 3 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Biomarkers

See all studies in Biomarkers →