Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 55 out of 100. Biomarkers

Topic: Plasma and spinal-fluid biomarkers

Blood phosphorylated tau (p-tau) biomarkers, at differing sites, demonstrate high accuracy to detect Alzheimer's disease (AD). However, knowledge on the optimal marker for disease identification across the AD continuum and the link to pathology is limited. This is partly due to heterogeneity in analytical methods. In this study, we employed an immunoprecipitation mass spectrometry method to simultaneously quantify six phosphorylated (p-tau181, p-tau199, p-tau202, p-tau205, p-tau217 and p-tau231) and two non-phosphorylated plasma tau peptides in a total of 214 participants from the Paris Lariboisière and Translational Biomarkers of Aging and Dementia cohorts. Our results indicate that p-tau217, p-tau231 and p-tau205 are the plasma tau forms that best reflect AD-related brain changes, although with distinct emergences along the disease course and correlations with AD features-amyloid and tau. These findings support the differential association of blood p-tau variants with AD pathology, and our method offers a potential tool for disease staging in clinical trials.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Montoliu-Gaya, L., Benedet, A. L., Tissot, C., Vrillon, A., Ashton, N. J., Brum, W. S., et al. (2023). Mass spectrometric simultaneous quantification of tau species in plasma shows differential associations with amyloid and tau pathologies. Nature aging. https://doi.org/10.1038/s43587-023-00405-1

Vancouver

Montoliu-Gaya L, Benedet AL, Tissot C, Vrillon A, Ashton NJ, Brum WS, et al. Mass spectrometric simultaneous quantification of tau species in plasma shows differential associations with amyloid and tau pathologies. Nature aging. 2023. doi:10.1038/s43587-023-00405-1. PMID: 37198279.

BibTeX

@article{montoliugaya2023-37198279,
  author  = {Montoliu-Gaya, L. and Benedet, A. L. and Tissot, C. and Vrillon, A. and Ashton, N. J. and Brum, W. S. and Lantero-Rodriguez, J. and Stevenson, J. and others},
  title   = {{Mass spectrometric simultaneous quantification of tau species in plasma shows differential associations with amyloid and tau pathologies}},
  journal = {Nature aging},
  year    = {2023},
  doi     = {10.1038/s43587-023-00405-1},
  pmid    = {37198279},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1038/s43587-023-00405-1}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 55/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 9 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 3 of 5; Sample size 2 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 2 of 2. 32 of the 58 points it could be judged on, which is 55 of 100. Total 55 of 100.32 of the 58 points we could judge = 55 of 100

Published in a leading specialty journal. Scored zero for study design, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 32 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 55 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 9 / 10 Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (Nature aging)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 3 / 5 2023 — within 6 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 2 / 4 214 participants
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 37198279)
Free to read 2 / 2 Free to read
Points 32 / 58 Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 32 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 55 out of 100.
Total 55 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Related studies in Biomarkers

Also tagged “neurofilament”

693 studies in the library carry the topic tag “neurofilament”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 693 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Biomarkers

See all studies in Biomarkers →