Home › Research › Long-term cohort studies
Distinct clinicopathologic clusters of persons with TDP-43 proteinopathy
Katsumata Y, Abner EL, Karanth S, Teylan MA, Mock CN, Cykowski MD, Lee EB, Boehme KL et al.. Acta neuropathologica, 2020-08-14
Topic: Brain proteins, microglia and lab models
To better understand clinical and neuropathological features of TDP-43 proteinopathies, data were analyzed from autopsied research volunteers who were followed in the National Alzheimer's Coordinating Center (NACC) data set. All subjects (n = 495) had autopsy-proven TDP-43 proteinopathy as an inclusion criterion. Subjects underwent comprehensive longitudinal clinical evaluations yearly for 6.9 years before death on average.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Katsumata, Y., Abner, E. L., Karanth, S., Teylan, M. A., Mock, C. N., Cykowski, M. D., et al. (2020). Distinct clinicopathologic clusters of persons with TDP-43 proteinopathy. Acta neuropathologica. https://doi.org/10.1007/s00401-020-02211-0
Vancouver
Katsumata Y, Abner EL, Karanth S, Teylan MA, Mock CN, Cykowski MD, et al. Distinct clinicopathologic clusters of persons with TDP-43 proteinopathy. Acta neuropathologica. 2020. doi:10.1007/s00401-020-02211-0. PMID: 32797255.
BibTeX
@article{katsumata2020-32797255,
author = {Katsumata, Y. and Abner, E. L. and Karanth, S. and Teylan, M. A. and Mock, C. N. and Cykowski, M. D. and Lee, E. B. and Boehme, K. L. and others},
title = {{Distinct clinicopathologic clusters of persons with TDP-43 proteinopathy}},
journal = {Acta neuropathologica},
year = {2020},
doi = {10.1007/s00401-020-02211-0},
pmid = {32797255},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1007/s00401-020-02211-0}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- All subjects (n = 495) had autopsy-proven TDP-43 proteinopathy as an inclusion criterion.
- Subjects underwent comprehensive longitudinal clinical evaluations yearly for 6.9 years before death on average.
- We tested whether an unsupervised clustering algorithm could detect coherent groups of TDP-43 immunopositive cases based on age at death and extensive neuropathologic data.
- Although many of the brains had mixed pathologies, four discernible clusters were identified.
Why it matters
This study identified distinct clinicopathologic clusters among people with TDP-43 proteinopathy, a brain pathology found in some dementia cases. It is about understanding the disease, not about treating, curing, or preventing Alzheimer's disease.
Study details
- Study designlongitudinal study
- Participants495
- Effect sizeor 6.9
- Evidence strengthModerate
How this study scored 63/100
Published in a leading specialty journal, and it is a longitudinal study following the same people over time. Scored zero for randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 9 / 10 | Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (Acta neuropathologica) |
| Journal's citation record | 3 / 4 | Acta Neuropathologica: journal h-index 287 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29) |
| Study design | 7 / 12 | A longitudinal study following the same people over time |
| Strength of evidence | 3 / 5 | Rated “moderate” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 2 / 5 | 2020 — within 10 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 2 / 4 | 495 participants |
| Effect reported | 2 / 3 | Effect reported as a number, without an interval or test |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (participant count stated) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | 4 / 7 | Cited 51 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10) |
| Citations per year | 2 / 5 | 6.4 citations a year over 8 year(s) since 2020 |
| Impact for its field and year | 2 / 6 | Cited 2.8× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI) |
| Cited by studies here | 2 / 6 | Cited by 5 other studies in this library |
| Still being cited | 2 / 4 | Cited 19 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex) |
| Senior author's track record | 3 / 4 | Last-listed author Peter T. Nelson: h-index 92 (OpenAlex, whole career) |
| Institution's track record | 3 / 3 | University of Washington: institution h-index 3,540 (OpenAlex) |
| Multi-centre collaboration | 2 / 3 | OpenAlex lists 7 institution(s) in 1 country |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 32797255) |
| Free to read | 0 / 2 | Behind a paywall — scores zero |
| Total | 63 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).
Studies this one cites
Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here. Showing 12 of 23.
Later studies that cite this one
5 studies in the alzhub library list this one in their references.
Related studies in Long-term cohort studies
Also tagged “bodies”
1,017 studies in the library carry the topic tag “bodies”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 1,017 tagged studies.