Home › Research › Cognitive tests and assessment
Dementia and cognitive impairment three months after stroke
Madureira S, Guerreiro M, Ferro JM.. European journal of neurology, 2001-11-01
Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies
To investigate the cognitive capacities of a cohort of ischaemic or haemorrhagic stroke survivors and to identify the clinical determinants of post-stroke cognitive impairment, we evaluated 237 patients admitted to a Stroke Unit (mean age 59; SD=12.7). Three months after stroke, patients were submitted to a neuropsychological evaluation that included the Mini-Mental State Examination (MMSE), a complementary battery to assess specific cognitive domains, the Hamilton Depression Rating Scale (HDRS) and the Blessed Dementia Scale (BDS). Disturbed performance on at least one domain was detected on 131 (55%) patients: 27% had cognitive deficits other than memory, 7% had focal memory deficit, 9% had memory and other cognitive deficits and 6% had dementia.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Madureira, S., Guerreiro, M., & Ferro, J. M. (2001). Dementia and cognitive impairment three months after stroke. European journal of neurology. https://doi.org/10.1046/j.1468-1331.2001.00332.x
Vancouver
Madureira S, Guerreiro M, Ferro JM. Dementia and cognitive impairment three months after stroke. European journal of neurology. 2001. doi:10.1046/j.1468-1331.2001.00332.x. PMID: 11784347.
BibTeX
@article{madureira2001-11784347,
author = {Madureira, S. and Guerreiro, M. and Ferro, J. M.},
title = {{Dementia and cognitive impairment three months after stroke}},
journal = {European journal of neurology},
year = {2001},
doi = {10.1046/j.1468-1331.2001.00332.x},
pmid = {11784347},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1046/j.1468-1331.2001.00332.x}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- Three months after stroke, patients were submitted to a neuropsychological evaluation that included the Mini-Mental State Examination (MMSE), a complementary battery to assess specific cognitive domains, the Hamilton Depression Rating Scale (HDRS) and the Blessed Dementia Scale (BDS).
- Disturbed performance on at least one domain was detected on 131 (55%) patients: 27% had cognitive deficits other than memory, 7% had focal memory deficit, 9% had memory and other cognitive deficits and 6% had dementia.
- Dementia was associated with female gender (P=0.01), older age (P=0.01) and lower education level (P=0.04).
- Patients with memory deficits were older (P=0.01) with lower educational level (P=0.08) and more left sided lesions (P=0.02) than patients without memory deficits.
Why it matters
Among 237 stroke survivors evaluated three months after stroke, 55% had disturbed performance in at least one cognitive domain and 6% had dementia. This describes how common cognitive problems are after stroke, but it does not test any treatment for preventing or curing dementia.
Study details
- Participants237
- Evidence strengthModerate
How this study scored 46/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (European journal of neurology) |
| Journal's citation record | 2 / 4 | European Journal of Neurology: journal h-index 181 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29) |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 3 / 5 | Rated “moderate” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 1 / 5 | 2001 — older than 20 years, still counted |
| Sample size | 2 / 4 | 237 participants |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (participant count stated) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | 5 / 7 | Cited 180 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10) |
| Citations per year | 2 / 5 | 6.7 citations a year over 27 year(s) since 2001 |
| Impact for its field and year | 3 / 6 | Cited 3.1× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI) |
| Cited by studies here | 2 / 6 | Cited by 6 other studies in this library |
| Still being cited | 1 / 4 | Cited 13 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex) |
| Senior author's track record | 3 / 4 | Last-listed author José Manuel Ferro: h-index 97 (OpenAlex, whole career) |
| Institution's track record | 0 / 3 | Hospital de Santa Maria: institution h-index 267 (OpenAlex) |
| Multi-centre collaboration | 0 / 3 | OpenAlex lists 1 institution(s) in 1 country — scores zero (affiliation lists can be incomplete) |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 11784347) |
| Free to read | 0 / 2 | Behind a paywall — scores zero |
| Total | 46 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
May need a subscription OpenAlex found no free copy of the full text (checked 6 Feb 1020), so the publisher may charge for it. The PubMed abstract is free.
Studies this one cites
Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here.
Later studies that cite this one
6 studies in the alzhub library list this one in their references.
Related studies in Cognitive tests and assessment
Also tagged “prevalence”
1,224 studies in the library carry the topic tag “prevalence”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 1,224 tagged studies.