Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 35 out of 100. Cognitive tests and assessment

Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis

For MCI, MoCA cut-offs were 24 (three methods) and 25 (Youden's J Index). For CI, MoCA cut-offs were 17 (Youden's J Index) and 18 (others). MMSE (28, 24) and CDR (0.5, 1) cut-offs were consistent. MoCA thresholds vary by method, requiring context-specific selection, while MMSE and CDR cut-offs remain stable.

Key findings

Why it matters

This study compared different methods for setting MoCA, MMSE and CDR cut-offs in Alzheimer's disease and found that MoCA thresholds varied by method while MMSE and CDR cut-offs stayed stable. It is about diagnostic scoring and does not treat, cure or prevent Alzheimer's disease.

Study details

How this study scored 35/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record 1 of 4; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 5 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 0 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited 1 of 7; Citations per year 0 of 5; Impact for its field and year 3 of 6; Cited by studies here 0 of 6; Still being cited 0 of 4; Senior author's track record 0 of 4; Institution's track record 2 of 3; Multi-centre collaboration 1 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 2 of 2. Total 35 of 100.35 of 100 points earned65 not earned

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Alzheimer s & Dementia Diagnosis Assessment & Disease Monitoring)
Journal's citation record 1 / 4 Alzheimer s & Dementia Diagnosis Assessment & Disease Monitoring: journal h-index 86 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29)
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 5 / 5 2026 — within 1 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 0 / 3 Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited 1 / 7 Cited 1 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 0 / 5 0.5 citations a year over 2 year(s) since 2026
Impact for its field and year 3 / 6 Cited 4.7× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI)
Cited by studies here 0 / 6 No other study in this library cites it
Still being cited 0 / 4 Cited 1 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record 0 / 4 Last-listed author Alzheimer’s Disease Neuroimaging Initiative: h-index 3 (OpenAlex, whole career)
Institution's track record 2 / 3 University of Chicago: institution h-index 1,769 (OpenAlex)
Multi-centre collaboration 1 / 3 OpenAlex lists 3 institution(s) in 1 country
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 41797865)
Free to read 2 / 2 Free to read
Total 35 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Atiya, S., Aschebrook‐Kilfoy, B., Konda, S., & Alzheimer’s Disease Neuroimaging Initiative. (2026). Comparative methods for determining MoCA, MMSE, and CDR cut‐offs in Alzheimer's disease: insights from the ADNI study. Alzheimer s & Dementia Diagnosis Assessment & Disease Monitoring. https://doi.org/10.1002/dad2.70291

Vancouver

Atiya S, Aschebrook‐Kilfoy B, Konda S, Alzheimer’s Disease Neuroimaging Initiative. Comparative methods for determining MoCA, MMSE, and CDR cut‐offs in Alzheimer's disease: insights from the ADNI study. Alzheimer s & Dementia Diagnosis Assessment & Disease Monitoring. 2026. doi:10.1002/dad2.70291. PMID: 41797865.

BibTeX

@article{atiya2026-41797865,
  author  = {Atiya, Samir and Aschebrook‐Kilfoy, Briseis and Konda, Sreenivas and {Alzheimer’s Disease Neuroimaging Initiative}},
  title   = {{Comparative methods for determining MoCA, MMSE, and CDR cut‐offs in Alzheimer's disease: insights from the ADNI study}},
  journal = {Alzheimer s \& Dementia Diagnosis Assessment \& Disease Monitoring},
  year    = {2026},
  doi     = {10.1002/dad2.70291},
  pmid    = {41797865},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1002/dad2.70291}
}

Related studies in Cognitive tests and assessment

Also in Cognitive tests and assessment

88 studies in the library are filed under Cognitive tests and assessment with no topic tag they share with another; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed tour of them. The Cognitive tests and assessment hub.

Similar studies

More on Cognitive tests and assessment

See all studies in Cognitive tests and assessment →