Home › Research › Biomarkers
Cerebrospinal fluid neurofilament light concentration predicts brain atrophy and cognition in Alzheimer's disease
Dhiman K, Gupta VB, Villemagne VL, Eratne D, Graham PL, Fowler C, Bourgeat P, Li QX et al.. Alzheimer's & dementia (Amsterdam, Netherlands), 2020-02-27
Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis
Introduction This study assessed the utility of cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) neurofilament light (NfL) in Alzheimer's disease (AD) diagnosis, its association with amyloid and tau pathology, as well as its potential to predict brain atrophy, cognition, and amyloid accumulation. Methods CSF NfL concentration was measured in 221 participants from the Australian Imaging, Biomarkers & Lifestyle Flagship Study of Ageing (AIBL). Results CSF NfL levels as well as NfL/amyloid β (Aβ42) were significantly elevated in AD compared to healthy controls (HC; P < .001), and in mild cognitive impairment (MCI) compared to HC ( P = .008 NfL; P < .001 NfL/Aβ42). CSF NfL and NfL/Aβ42 differentiated AD from HC with an area under the receiver operating characteristic (ROC) curve (AUC) of 0.84 and 0.90, respectively. CSF NfL and NfL/Aβ42 predicted cortical amyloid load, brain atrophy, and cognition. Discussion CSF NfL is a biomarker of neurodegeneration, correlating with cognitive impairment and brain neuropathology.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Dhiman, K., Gupta, V. B., Villemagne, V. L., Eratne, D., Graham, P. L., Fowler, C., et al. (2020). Cerebrospinal fluid neurofilament light concentration predicts brain atrophy and cognition in Alzheimer's disease. Alzheimer's & dementia (Amsterdam, Netherlands). https://doi.org/10.1002/dad2.12005
Vancouver
Dhiman K, Gupta VB, Villemagne VL, Eratne D, Graham PL, Fowler C, et al. Cerebrospinal fluid neurofilament light concentration predicts brain atrophy and cognition in Alzheimer's disease. Alzheimer's & dementia (Amsterdam, Netherlands). 2020. doi:10.1002/dad2.12005. PMID: 32211500.
BibTeX
@article{dhiman2020-32211500,
author = {Dhiman, K. and Gupta, V. B. and Villemagne, V. L. and Eratne, D. and Graham, P. L. and Fowler, C. and Bourgeat, P. and Li, Q. X. and others},
title = {{Cerebrospinal fluid neurofilament light concentration predicts brain atrophy and cognition in Alzheimer's disease}},
journal = {Alzheimer's \& dementia (Amsterdam, Netherlands)},
year = {2020},
doi = {10.1002/dad2.12005},
pmid = {32211500},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1002/dad2.12005}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- Results CSF NfL levels as well as NfL/amyloid β (Aβ42) were significantly elevated in AD compared to healthy controls (HC; P < .001), and in mild cognitive impairment (MCI) compared to HC ( P = .008 NfL; P < .001 NfL/Aβ42).
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Blood tests & biomarkers →
Study details
- Participants221
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 53/100
Published in a leading specialty journal. Scored zero for study design, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 31 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 53 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 9 / 10 | Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (Alzheimer's & dementia (Amsterdam, Netherlands)) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 2 / 5 | 2020 — within 10 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 2 / 4 | 221 participants |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (participant count stated) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 32211500) |
| Free to read | 2 / 2 | Free to read |
| Points | 31 / 58 | Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 31 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 53 out of 100. |
| Total | 53 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Related studies in Biomarkers
Also tagged “brain-atrophy”
2 studies in the library carry the topic tag “brain-atrophy”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 2 tagged studies.