Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 47 out of 100. Brain tissue and pathology

Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis

Amyloid deposition can take place in the walls of arteries, arterioles, and, less often, capillaries and veins of the central nervous system, a phenomenon known as cerebral amyloid angiopathy (CAA). The major clinicopathological manifestations of CAA include cerebral hemorrhage, ischemic lesions, and dementia. CAA may be classified according to the amyloid protein deposited.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Revesz, T., Ghiso, J., Lashley, T., Plant, G., Rostagno, A., Frangione, B., et al. (2003). Cerebral amyloid angiopathies: a pathologic, biochemical, and genetic view. Journal of neuropathology and experimental neurology. https://doi.org/10.1093/jnen/62.9.885

Vancouver

Revesz T, Ghiso J, Lashley T, Plant G, Rostagno A, Frangione B, et al. Cerebral amyloid angiopathies: a pathologic, biochemical, and genetic view. Journal of neuropathology and experimental neurology. 2003. doi:10.1093/jnen/62.9.885. PMID: 14533778.

BibTeX

@article{revesz2003-14533778,
  author  = {Revesz, T. and Ghiso, J. and Lashley, T. and Plant, G. and Rostagno, A. and Frangione, B. and Holton, J. L.},
  title   = {{Cerebral amyloid angiopathies: a pathologic, biochemical, and genetic view}},
  journal = {Journal of neuropathology and experimental neurology},
  year    = {2003},
  doi     = {10.1093/jnen/62.9.885},
  pmid    = {14533778},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1093/jnen/62.9.885}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record names 7 authors; APA and Vancouver show the first six, BibTeX and the downloads carry all of them. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Why it matters

This review describes cerebral amyloid angiopathy, in which amyloid deposits in blood vessel walls can cause cerebral hemorrhage, ischemic lesions and dementia, and notes that it can be severe in some familial forms of Alzheimer's disease. It explains disease mechanisms and does not test any treatment or prevention.

Study details

How this study scored 47/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record 2 of 4; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 1 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 0 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited 5 of 7; Citations per year 3 of 5; Impact for its field and year 4 of 6; Cited by studies here 3 of 6; Still being cited 2 of 4; Senior author's track record 3 of 4; Institution's track record 2 of 3; Multi-centre collaboration 2 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. Total 47 of 100.47 of 100 points earned53 not earned

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Journal of neuropathology and experimental neurology)
Journal's citation record 2 / 4 Journal of Neuropathology & Experimental Neurology: journal h-index 239 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29)
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 1 / 5 2003 — older than 20 years, still counted
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 0 / 3 Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited 5 / 7 Cited 287 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 3 / 5 11.5 citations a year over 25 year(s) since 2003
Impact for its field and year 4 / 6 Cited 11.6× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI)
Cited by studies here 3 / 6 Cited by 13 other studies in this library
Still being cited 2 / 4 Cited 15 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record 3 / 4 Last-listed author Janice L. Holton: h-index 89 (OpenAlex, whole career)
Institution's track record 2 / 3 University College London: institution h-index 2,029 (OpenAlex)
Multi-centre collaboration 2 / 3 OpenAlex lists 4 institution(s) in 2 countries
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 14533778)
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Total 47 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

May need a subscription OpenAlex found no free copy of the full text (checked 6 Feb 1020), so the publisher may charge for it. The PubMed abstract is free.

Studies this one cites

Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here.

Later studies that cite this one

13 studies in the alzhub library list this one in their references. Showing the 8 highest-scoring.

Related studies in Brain tissue and pathology

Also tagged “vessel”

900 studies in the library carry the topic tag “vessel”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 900 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Brain tissue and pathology

See all studies in Brain tissue and pathology →