Home › Research › Cognitive tests and assessment
Synaptic proteins, neuropathology and cognitive status in the oldest-old
Head E, Corrada MM, Kahle-Wrobleski K, Kim RC, Sarsoza F, Goodus M, Kawas CH.. Neurobiology of aging, 2007-11-14
Topic: Brain proteins, microglia and lab models
An increasing number of individuals in our population are surviving to over 90 years and a subset is at risk for developing dementia. However, senile plaque and neurofibrillary tangle pathology do not consistently differentiate individuals with and without dementia. Synaptic protein loss is a feature of aging and dementia and may dissociate 90+ individuals with and without dementia.
Key findings
- However, senile plaque and neurofibrillary tangle pathology do not consistently differentiate individuals with and without dementia.
- Synaptic protein loss is a feature of aging and dementia and may dissociate 90+ individuals with and without dementia.
- Synaptophysin (SYN), postsynaptic density 95 (PSD-95) and growth-associated protein 43 (GAP-43) were studied in the frontal cortex of an autopsy series of 32 prospectively followed individuals (92-105 years) with a range of cognitive function.
- SYN protein levels were decreased in individuals with dementia and increased in those with clinical signs of cognitive impairment insufficient for a diagnosis of dementia.
Why it matters
This autopsy study examined synaptic proteins in the frontal cortex of 32 people aged 92 to 105 with a range of cognitive function. It found that senile plaques and neurofibrillary tangles did not consistently distinguish those with and without dementia, and it suggests synaptic protein loss may help separate them.
Study details
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 36/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 23 of the 64 points we could judge it on, which is 36 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Neurobiology of aging) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 1 / 5 | 2009 — within 20 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 0 / 4 | Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 0 / 3 | Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (OpenAlex dates this DOI to 2007, the record says 2009; OpenAlex values not used) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | 2 / 6 | Cited by 9 other studies in this library |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 18006193) |
| Free to read | 0 / 2 | Behind a paywall — scores zero |
| Points | 23 / 64 | Scored on 12 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 23 of the 64 points we could judge it on is 36 out of 100. |
| Total | 36 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record names 7 authors; APA and Vancouver show the first six, BibTeX and the downloads carry all of them. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
APA 7th
Head, E., Corrada, M. M., Kahle-Wrobleski, K., Kim, R. C., Sarsoza, F., Goodus, M., et al. (2009). Synaptic proteins, neuropathology and cognitive status in the oldest-old. Neurobiology of aging. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.neurobiolaging.2007.10.001
Vancouver
Head E, Corrada MM, Kahle-Wrobleski K, Kim RC, Sarsoza F, Goodus M, et al. Synaptic proteins, neuropathology and cognitive status in the oldest-old. Neurobiology of aging. 2009. doi:10.1016/j.neurobiolaging.2007.10.001. PMID: 18006193.
BibTeX
@article{head2009-18006193,
author = {Head, E. and Corrada, M. M. and Kahle-Wrobleski, K. and Kim, R. C. and Sarsoza, F. and Goodus, M. and Kawas, C. H.},
title = {{Synaptic proteins, neuropathology and cognitive status in the oldest-old}},
journal = {Neurobiology of aging},
year = {2009},
doi = {10.1016/j.neurobiolaging.2007.10.001},
pmid = {18006193},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1016/j.neurobiolaging.2007.10.001}
}
Studies this one cites
Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here.
Later studies that cite this one
9 studies in the alzhub library list this one in their references. Showing the 8 highest-scoring.
Related studies in Cognitive tests and assessment
Also tagged “bodies”
1,017 studies in the library carry the topic tag “bodies”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 1,017 tagged studies.