Home › Research › Treatments
Symptomatic amyloid-related imaging abnormalities in an APOE ε4/ε4 patient treated with aducanumab
Lawren VandeVrede, Daniel M Gibbs, Mary Koestler, Renaud La Joie, Peter A Ljubenkov, Karine Provost, David Soleimani-Meigooni, Amelia Strom et al.. Alzheimer's & dementia (Amsterdam, Netherlands), 2020-10-09
Topic: Drug trials: efficacy and safety
Acute symptoms included headache and encephalopathy, and magnetic resonance imaging revealed ARIA-E and ARIA-H. Malignant hypertension and epileptiform activity were treated with nicardipine and levetiracetam. Subsequent clinical/imaging worsening prompted a course of methylprednisolone. Symptoms and ARIA-E resolved over 6 months, while ARIA-H persisted. Quantitative analysis of interval amyloid PET showed reduced signal in pre-existing areas but increased signal posteriorly; while tau PET showed increased signal overall. In an APOE ε4/ε4 patient, ARIA symptoms were accompanied by malignant hypertension and epileptiform activity, and pulsed steroids reversed edema. Studies from larger cohorts may clarify the optimal treatment and pathophysiology of ARIA.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
VandeVrede, L., Gibbs, D. M., Koestler, M., La Joie, R., Ljubenkov, P. A., Provost, K., et al. (2020). Symptomatic amyloid-related imaging abnormalities in an APOE ε4/ε4 patient treated with aducanumab. Alzheimer's & dementia (Amsterdam, Netherlands). https://doi.org/10.1002/dad2.12101
Vancouver
VandeVrede L, Gibbs DM, Koestler M, La Joie R, Ljubenkov PA, Provost K, et al. Symptomatic amyloid-related imaging abnormalities in an APOE ε4/ε4 patient treated with aducanumab. Alzheimer's & dementia (Amsterdam, Netherlands). 2020. doi:10.1002/dad2.12101. PMID: 33072846.
BibTeX
@article{vandevrede2020-33072846,
author = {VandeVrede, Lawren and Gibbs, Daniel M and Koestler, Mary and La Joie, Renaud and Ljubenkov, Peter A and Provost, Karine and Soleimani-Meigooni, David and Strom, Amelia and others},
title = {{Symptomatic amyloid-related imaging abnormalities in an APOE ε4/ε4 patient treated with aducanumab}},
journal = {Alzheimer's \& dementia (Amsterdam, Netherlands)},
year = {2020},
doi = {10.1002/dad2.12101},
pmid = {33072846},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1002/dad2.12101}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- Acute symptoms included headache and encephalopathy, and magnetic resonance imaging revealed ARIA-E and ARIA-H.
- Malignant hypertension and epileptiform activity were treated with nicardipine and levetiracetam.
- Subsequent clinical/imaging worsening prompted a course of methylprednisolone.
- Symptoms and ARIA-E resolved over 6 months, while ARIA-H persisted.
- Quantitative analysis of interval amyloid PET showed reduced signal in pre-existing areas but increased signal posteriorly; while tau PET showed increased signal overall.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Treatments →
Study details
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 43/100
Published in a leading specialty journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record, multi-centre collaboration and free to read, so those were left out: it earned 24 of the 56 points we could judge it on, which is 43 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 9 / 10 | Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (Alzheimer's & dementia (Amsterdam, Netherlands)) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 2 / 5 | 2020 — within 10 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 0 / 4 | Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 0 / 3 | Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 33072846) |
| Free to read | — / 2 | Access not recorded — left out of this score |
| Points | 24 / 56 | Scored on 10 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 24 of the 56 points we could judge it on is 43 out of 100. |
| Total | 43 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Related studies in Treatments
Also tagged “aducanumab”
332 studies in the library carry the topic tag “aducanumab”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 332 tagged studies.