Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 45 out of 100. Treatments

Topic: Drug trials: efficacy and safety

Alzheimer's disease (AD) affects over 6 million people over the age of 65. The advent of new anti-amyloid monoclonal antibodies as treatment for early Alzheimer's disease these immunotherapeutics may slow disease progression but also pose significant risks. Amyloid related imaging abnormalities (ARIA) identified on MRI following administration of these new monoclonal antibodies can cause both brain edema (ARIA-E) and hemorrhage (ARIA-H). While most ARIA is asymptomatic, some patients can develop headache, confusion, nausea, dizziness, seizures and in rare cases death. By analyzing lecanemab, aducanumab, gantenerumab, donanemab, and bapineuzumab clinical trials; risk factors for developing ARIA can be identified to mitigate some of the ARIA risk. Risk factors for developing ARIA-E are a positive Apoε4 carrier status and prior multiple cerebral microhemorrhages. Risk factors for ARIA-H are age, antithrombotic use, and history of prior strokes. With lecanemab, ARIA-E and ARIA-H were seen at lower rates 12 and 17%, respectively, compared to aducanumab (ARIA-E 35% and ARIA-H 19%) in treated patients. ARIA risk factors have impacted inclusion and exclusion criteria, determining who can receive lecanemab. In some clinics, almost 90% of Alzheimer's patients are excluded from receiving these new anti-amyloid therapeutics. This review aims to discuss risk factors of ARIA and highlight important areas for further research. With more anti-amyloid monoclonal antibodies approved by the Food and Drug Administration, considering patient risk factors for developing ARIA is important to identify to minimize patient's risk while receiving these new therapies.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 45/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 4 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 0 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 2 of 2. 26 of the 58 points it could be judged on, which is 45 of 100. Total 45 of 100.26 of the 58 points we could judge = 45 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 26 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 45 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Frontiers in neuroscience)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 4 / 5 2024 — within 3 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 0 / 3 Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 38312931)
Free to read 2 / 2 Free to read
Points 26 / 58 Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 26 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 45 out of 100.
Total 45 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Doran, S. J., & Sawyer, R. P. (2024). Risk factors in developing amyloid related imaging abnormalities (ARIA) and clinical implications. Frontiers in neuroscience. https://doi.org/10.3389/fnins.2024.1326784

Vancouver

Doran SJ, Sawyer RP. Risk factors in developing amyloid related imaging abnormalities (ARIA) and clinical implications. Frontiers in neuroscience. 2024. doi:10.3389/fnins.2024.1326784. PMID: 38312931.

BibTeX

@article{doran2024-38312931,
  author  = {Doran, S. J. and Sawyer, R. P.},
  title   = {{Risk factors in developing amyloid related imaging abnormalities (ARIA) and clinical implications}},
  journal = {Frontiers in neuroscience},
  year    = {2024},
  doi     = {10.3389/fnins.2024.1326784},
  pmid    = {38312931},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.3389/fnins.2024.1326784}
}

Related studies in Treatments

Similar studies

More on Treatments

See all studies in Treatments →