Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 70 out of 100. Treatments

Topic: Drug trials: efficacy and safety

The mean age was 74.2 ± 7.9 years, and 89 (74%) were female. The majority of patients (88%) had a baseline CDR global score of 0.5. During follow-up, 81 patients completed the 12-month assessment. ARIA occurred in 24 patients (20%); ARIA-E with or without ARIA-H occurred in 5 patients (4%), and isolated ARIA-H occurred in 19 patients (16%). Crucially, no patients experienced symptomatic ARIA. All patients with ARIA-E who had available APOE data were ε4 carriers. Patients with ARIA had significantly lower baseline MMSE scores (p = 0.04), alongside non-significant trends toward higher plasma GFAP levels (p = 0.11) and higher deep white matter Fazekas scores (p = 0.05). IRRs occurred in 34 patients (28%), all of which were mild. Treatment was discontinued in 19 patients (16%), mainly due to disease progression (n = 8). In this Japanese AD cohort, Lecanemab demonstrated a manageable safety profile in a real-world setting. In exploratory analyses, potential trends toward a higher frequency of ARIA were observed in patients with lower MMSE scores, higher plasma GFAP levels, and higher Fazekas scores, underscoring the importance of individualized risk assessment prior to therapy.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 70/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 7 of 12; Strength of evidence 3 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 5 of 5; Sample size 2 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read left out, no data. 39 of the 56 points it could be judged on, which is 70 of 100. Total 70 of 100.39 of the 56 points we could judge = 70 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal, and it is a longitudinal study following the same people over time. Scored zero for effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record, multi-centre collaboration and free to read, so those were left out: it earned 39 of the 56 points we could judge it on, which is 70 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (The journal of prevention of Alzheimer's disease)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 7 / 12 A longitudinal study following the same people over time
Strength of evidence 3 / 5 Rated “moderate” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 5 / 5 2026 — within 1 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 2 / 4 120 participants
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 41936348)
Free to read — / 2 Access not recorded — left out of this score
Points 39 / 56 Scored on 10 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 39 of the 56 points we could judge it on is 70 out of 100.
Total 70 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Shimasaki, R., Kurihara, M., Bannai, T., Hatano, K., Suzuki, F., Tokumaru, A. M., et al. (2026). Amyloid-related imaging abnormalities in Japanese patients with Alzheimer's disease treated with Lecanemab: A real-world study. The journal of prevention of Alzheimer's disease. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.tjpad.2026.100562

Vancouver

Shimasaki R, Kurihara M, Bannai T, Hatano K, Suzuki F, Tokumaru AM, et al. Amyloid-related imaging abnormalities in Japanese patients with Alzheimer's disease treated with Lecanemab: A real-world study. The journal of prevention of Alzheimer's disease. 2026. doi:10.1016/j.tjpad.2026.100562. PMID: 41936348.

BibTeX

@article{shimasaki2026-41936348,
  author  = {Shimasaki, Ryosuke and Kurihara, Masanori and Bannai, Taro and Hatano, Keiko and Suzuki, Fumio and Tokumaru, Aya Midori and Ishii, Kenji and Ihara, Ryoko and others},
  title   = {{Amyloid-related imaging abnormalities in Japanese patients with Alzheimer's disease treated with Lecanemab: A real-world study}},
  journal = {The journal of prevention of Alzheimer's disease},
  year    = {2026},
  doi     = {10.1016/j.tjpad.2026.100562},
  pmid    = {41936348},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1016/j.tjpad.2026.100562}
}

Related studies in Treatments

Also tagged “aducanumab”

332 studies in the library carry the topic tag “aducanumab”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 332 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Treatments

See all studies in Treatments →