Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 41 out of 100. Treatments

Topic: Plasma and spinal-fluid biomarkers

Patients with Alzheimer's disease (AD) can now be treated with monoclonal antibodies aiming at clearing amyloid plaques from the brain parenchyma. Weeks after initiation of this drug therapy, patients may develop so-called amyloid-related imaging abnormalities (ARIA) on MRI. ARIA comprise vasogenic edema and leptomeningeal effusions (ARIA-E) as well as microbleeds and superficial hemosiderosis (ARIA-H). The prevalence is drug- and dose-dependent (up to 40 % of patients), the apolipoprotein E4 variant and concomitant cerebral amyloid angiopathy (CAA) increase the risk. With regard to MRI characteristics, ARIA strongly resembles the so-called inflammatory subtype of CAA (CAA-ri). While patients with CAA-ri are typically detected due to symptoms such as headaches, lethargy, confusion, and rarely epileptic seizures, around 20 % of ARIA patients show symptoms. Management of ARIA is not yet clearly established. In asymptomatic patients, discontinuation of the drug might be sufficient. KEY POINTS: · Amyloid-related imaging abnormalities (ARIA) occur in around 20 % of patients who are treated with monoclonal antibodies against amyloid β.. · There are 2 types: ARIA-E (edema effusion) und ARIA-H (hemorrhage).. · Depending on the severity, therapy with monoclonal antibodies is either interrupted or finished.. CITATION FORMAT: · Urbach H, Linn J, Hattingen E et al. Imaging of Amyloid-Related Imaging Abnormalities (ARIA). Fortschr Röntgenstr 2024; 196: 363 - 369.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Urbach, H., Linn, J., Hattingen, E., & Fiebach, J. (2024). Imaging of Amyloid-Related Imaging Abnormalities (ARIA). RoFo : Fortschritte auf dem Gebiete der Rontgenstrahlen und der Nuklearmedizin. https://doi.org/10.1055/a-2185-8472

Vancouver

Urbach H, Linn J, Hattingen E, Fiebach J. Imaging of Amyloid-Related Imaging Abnormalities (ARIA). RoFo : Fortschritte auf dem Gebiete der Rontgenstrahlen und der Nuklearmedizin. 2024. doi:10.1055/a-2185-8472. PMID: 37995736.

BibTeX

@article{urbach2024-37995736,
  author  = {Urbach, H. and Linn, J. and Hattingen, E. and Fiebach, J.},
  title   = {{Imaging of Amyloid-Related Imaging Abnormalities (ARIA)}},
  journal = {RoFo : Fortschritte auf dem Gebiete der Rontgenstrahlen und der Nuklearmedizin},
  year    = {2024},
  doi     = {10.1055/a-2185-8472},
  pmid    = {37995736},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1055/a-2185-8472}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 41/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 4 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 0 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. 24 of the 58 points it could be judged on, which is 41 of 100. Total 41 of 100.24 of the 58 points we could judge = 41 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 24 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 41 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (RoFo : Fortschritte auf dem Gebiete der Rontgenstrahlen und der Nuklearmedizin)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 4 / 5 2024 — within 3 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 0 / 3 Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 37995736)
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Points 24 / 58 Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 24 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 41 out of 100.
Total 41 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Related studies in Treatments

Also tagged “aducanumab”

332 studies in the library carry the topic tag “aducanumab”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 332 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Treatments

See all studies in Treatments →