Home › Research › End-of-life care
Survival Variations Based on Hospice Qualifying Condition: A Retrospective Review
Patrick D. Crowley, Leslie R. Siegel, Francis X. Whalen. American Journal of Hospice and Palliative Medicine®, 2025-08-26
Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies
BackgroundPatients are enrolled into hospice for a variety of conditions. There are few recent data on the differences of survival duration after hospice enrollment, particularly regarding age, sex, and reason for hospice admission.MethodsUsing previously obtained data, we calculated age at enrollment, reported sex, and classified patients into nine classes of hospice-qualifying conditions (HQC). We then applied Wilcoxon rank-sum analysis comparing median survival and the percent of patients surviving at least 6 months.Findings53.38% of patients were female. The median age was 83.03 years. The median survival duration overall was 17.36 days (Inter-quartile range 5.35-62.08). Median survival was lowest for "Infectious" HQC (4.69d) and highest for "Other" (28.53d). Women survived longer than men (19.34 vs 15.37 days). Those older than median survived longer (20.51 days vs 15.03). Overall, 9.47% of enrollees survived at least 6 months. This was more common for women (10.99%), those older than 83 (12.44%), and those enrolled for dementia (16.46%).DiscussionRelevant information of what can be expected after hospice enrollment is crucial for families and patients. These differences also indicate potential bias in assessment of hospice applicability, enrolling women, older patients, and patients with specific diagnoses earlier in their disease course.
Key findings
- The median survival duration overall was 17.36 days (Inter-quartile range 5.35-62.08).
- Overall, 9.47% of enrollees survived at least 6 months.
Why it matters
This retrospective review found median hospice survival was 17.36 days overall, and 9.47% of enrollees survived at least 6 months. Survival of at least 6 months was more common for those enrolled for dementia.
Study details
- Effect size53.38%; 9.47%; 10.99%
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 33/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (American Journal of Hospice and Palliative Medicine®) |
| Journal's citation record | 1 / 4 | American Journal of Hospice and Palliative Medicine®: journal h-index 85 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29) |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 4 / 5 | 2025 — within 3 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 0 / 4 | Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Effect reported | 2 / 3 | Effect reported as a number, without an interval or test |
| Studied in people | 0 / 3 | Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | 1 / 7 | Cited 2 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10) |
| Citations per year | 0 / 5 | 0.7 citations a year over 3 year(s) since 2025 |
| Impact for its field and year | 2 / 6 | Cited 1.7× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI) |
| Cited by studies here | 0 / 6 | No other study in this library cites it |
| Still being cited | 0 / 4 | Cited 2 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex) |
| Senior author's track record | 1 / 4 | Last-listed author Francis X. Whalen: h-index 15 (OpenAlex, whole career) |
| Institution's track record | 2 / 3 | Mayo Clinic: institution h-index 1,606 (OpenAlex) |
| Multi-centre collaboration | 0 / 3 | OpenAlex lists 1 institution(s) in 1 country — scores zero (affiliation lists can be incomplete) |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 40857749) |
| Free to read | 0 / 2 | Behind a paywall — scores zero |
| Total | 33 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
May need a subscription OpenAlex found no free copy of the full text (checked 6 Feb 1020), so the publisher may charge for it. The PubMed abstract is free.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
APA 7th
Crowley, P. D., Siegel, L. R., & Whalen, F. X. (2025). Survival Variations Based on Hospice Qualifying Condition: A Retrospective Review. American Journal of Hospice and Palliative Medicine®. https://doi.org/10.1177/10499091251374172
Vancouver
Crowley PD, Siegel LR, Whalen FX. Survival Variations Based on Hospice Qualifying Condition: A Retrospective Review. American Journal of Hospice and Palliative Medicine®. 2025. doi:10.1177/10499091251374172. PMID: 40857749.
BibTeX
@article{crowley2025-40857749,
author = {Crowley, Patrick D. and Siegel, Leslie R. and Whalen, Francis X.},
title = {{Survival Variations Based on Hospice Qualifying Condition: A Retrospective Review}},
journal = {American Journal of Hospice and Palliative Medicine®},
year = {2025},
doi = {10.1177/10499091251374172},
pmid = {40857749},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1177/10499091251374172}
}
Studies this one cites
Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here.
Related studies in End-of-life care
Also tagged “delirium”
858 studies in the library carry the topic tag “delirium”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 858 tagged studies.